go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Painting Subject Guide

Key ResourcesKey Resources
Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Gateways

The Art Gallery of New South Wales
  TheArt Gallery of New South Wales holds important collections of Australian, Western and Asian art and presents nearly forty exhibitions annually
Art-of-Day Info
  A listing of artists, museums, galleries, images and organisations, auction houses, and antique dealers.
Art Navigator
  Includes painting techniques and studio practice.
Artpromote.com
  A searchable directory listing of art galleries, museums and artists sites from around the world. Browse by subject, medium, movement, nationality and more.
artseek
  Organisations, art materials, art books, magazines, galleries, Australian public and private art sites, educational and technical information.
culture and recreation
  over 2,200 websites and 900,000 pages about Australia's culture and recreation (Dept. of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts)
Galaxy
  Directory of international sites on painting.
Worldwide Arts Resources
  Gateway to artists, arts topics, museums, arts news, arts history and arts marketplace .
Yahoo - Painting
  Includes painting techniques and studio practice.
fine-art.com
  Subcribe to this site for artists, collectors, dealers and enthusiasts with a newsletter, artists' links, art services, health and safety issues, art education, art organisations and galleries.
The Australian Arts & Crafts Search Engine
  Australian and New Zealand Fine Arts, crafts and performing arts sites.

Materials and Techniques

Oil Painting
John Earl, an artist/teacher shares his practical and creative knowledge with other painters.
Watercolor & Watermedia Tips & Demos
Artist Ellen Fountain offers practical advice on watercolour painting, books about watercolours, artists' supplies, affiliate sites and other art site links.
About Painting
From the organisation About this site covers all aspects of painting from oil to pastel to glasspainting, painting techniques, organisations, books, suppliers and a newsletter.
Internet Resources for Art Hazards
Occupational health and safety issues for artists.
Oil Painting Techniques.com
American site from the Ethan Semmel Art Studio on oil painting techniques and supplies together with a discussion list and newsletter.
OnArt's Art Exchange
Site comprising international artists who share their practical knowledge and experience on all aspects of studio art practice.
Jo Sonja's Professional Artists' Colours for Decorative Art
Colour products, colour charts, health & safety issues for artists & a newsletter.
John Lovett: Class Notes
Artist John lovett shares his knowledge on all aspects of watercolour painting.
Gamblin Artists Colours
American commercial supplier of artists' materials, painting techniques, studio safety procedures, FAQ, links to artists' materials & resources, newsletters and exhibitions.

Suppliers

CHROMA
CHROMA supplies artists' paints and materials, covers art education, health and safety issues and links to other sites.
Oxford Art Supplies
Art supplies.
Janet's Art Supplies + Books
Supplier of art books and artists' materials.
Bondi Road Art Supplies
Art supplies.