go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Painting Subject Guide

Discussion Groups
Key Resources | Databases | Journals Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Artcyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Australian art
  Alan & Susan McCulloch. Rev. ed. St Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1994
REF709.9403/1
Encyclopedia of themes and subjects in painting
  Howard Daniel. New York, Harry N. Abrams, 1971
REF759.9403/1
Painting materials: a short encyclopaedia
  Rutherford J. Gettens & George L. Stout. New York, Dover Publishing Inc., 1966
REF751.03/1

Dictionaries

 AKL Online : World Biographical Dictionary of Artists
  Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World, it contains information on visual artists from all over the world and from antiquity to the present.
Artlex art dictionary
Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers
  George C. Williamson. New ed. New York, Kennikat Press, 1964
REF759.003/1
The dictionary of Australian artists: painters, sketchers, photographers and engravers to 1870
  Joan Kerr. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1992
REF709.94/7
The dictionary of Victorian painters 1750-1900
  Christopher Wood. 2nd ed. Wordbridge, England, Antique Collector's Club, 1978
REF759.941/1
A dictionary of watercolour painters 1750-1900
  Stanley W. Fisher. London, W. Foulsham & Co. Ltd, 1972
REF751.422094203/1
Dictionary of women artists
  Delia Gaze (ed.) London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997
REF709.22/22/(1-2)
Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs
  E. Benezit. Nouvelle ed. Paris, Grund, 1999
REF709.203/2/Vol.1-14
Everyman's dictionary of pictorial art
  William Gaunt, London, J. M. Dent & Sons, 1962
REF750.3/1/Vol.1-2
An illustrated dictionary of narrative painting
  Arnold Thomas. London, National Gallery publications, 1994.
REF759.9403/2
International Directory of Arts
  Berlin : Kaupterverlag, [1952-
CFAREF 700.25/1
Kunsterlexikon internationale kunsterdatenbank = World biographical dictionary of artists
 
CD-ROM ed. Munchen, K.G. Saur, 2003-
REF709.2205/5 Housed on stand-alone PC in Reference
Nineteenth century painters and painting: a dictionary
  London, Thomas & Hudson, 1977
REF759.05/2
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
The painter's dictionary of materials and methods
  Frederic Taubes. New York, Watson Guptill Publications, 1971
REF751.2/1


Handbooks

Artist beware
  Michael McCann. New York: Lyons & Burford Publishers, 1992
REF702.89/5
The artist's manual: equipment, materials, techniques
  Stan Smith & H. F. Ten Holt (ed.) Artarmon: Macmillan, 1980
REFF702.8/1
Artists and Galleries of Australia
  Max Germaine. Roseville, NSW: Craftsman House, 1990
REF709.9403/8/(1-2)
Australian artists today
  Graeme Norris. 3rd ed. Carlton, Vic., Graeme Norris, 1984
REF759.994/3
A checklist of painters c1200-1994
  2nd ed. London, Courtauld Institute, 1995
REF759.003/7
Chemicals and the artist: a health and safety handbook for students, teachers and artworkers
  Bob Hall. 3rd ed. Ballarat, B. Hall, 1993
REF702.89/14
Concise rules of APA style
  Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2005
REF808.06615/15
Danger! Artists at work: a guide to occupational hazards and precautions for arts workers and teachers
  Monona Rossol and Ben Bartlett. 2nd ed. Port Melbourne, D.W. Thorpe, 1996
REF702.89/6
Hazarts: occupational health & safety in the visual arts
  Laurel McKenzie. NSW, Arts training Australia, 1993
REF702.89/8
Heritage: the national women's art book
  Joan Kerr (ed.) Roseville East: Craftsman House, 1995
REFF709.22/19
How to, where to : how to do an arts project, where to get help
  Strawberry Hills, N.S.W. : Australia Council for the Arts, 2004.
CFAREF700.994/AUS/10
Index to reproductions of American paintings
  Isabel Stevenson Monro & Kate M. Monro. New York, H. W. Wilson Co., 1948
REF759.1016/1
International directory of arts
  Berlin : Kaupterverlag, current edition
CFAREF 700.25/1
Index to reproductions of European paintings
  Isabel Stevenson monro & Kate M. Monro. New York, H. W. Wilson Co., 1956
REF759.4016/1
The lives of the painters
  John Canaday. New York, W. W. Norton & Co., 1969
REF759/2
Looking at paintings : a guide to technical terms
 
Dawson W. Carr  &  Mark  Leonard. Malibu, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Museum in association with British Museum Press, c1992.
CFAREF750.3/2
The Painters hazard handbook
  Noni Holmes. Victoria, OPDU, 1990
REF702.89/7
Painting of the Golden Age
  Adelheid M. Gealt. London, Greenwood Press, 1993
REF759.046/1
Protect yourself: a kit written by artists about health and safety in the visual arts
  East Melbourne: Community Arts Network, 1989
REF702.89/3
Technical handbook for painting students
  Louise Fowler-Smith. Sydney, City Art Institute, 1990
REF751/1

Training in the conservation of paintings
  London, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, 1972
REF751.6071142/1

A world history of art
  Hugh Honour & John Fleming. 5th ed. London: Laurence King Publishing, 1999
REFF709/7
World painting index
  Patricia Pate Havlice. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1977
REF750.16/1/Vol.1-2

Discussion Groups

  Comprehensive internet reference

Search for Painting material in the UNSW Library Resources Database