go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Photomedia Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Art Full Text
  Based on Art Abstracts with full text coverage for selected periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective
  A bibliographic databse that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
 ArtBibliographies Modern
  Abstracts of the current literature of Modern Art, Architecture, Photography and Design sourced from journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations and exhibition reviews.
 Artex
  Indexes more than 4,000 Australian art exhibition catalogues from 1990-1997.
 AustArt Index
  Developed and maintained by the CoFa Library, AustArt includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia from 1987 onwards.
Australian Visual Arts Databases
  A collection of 12 Australian visual arts sources, including ARTEX 90-97, and NATSIVAD.
 Bibliography of the History of Art
  Covering European and American art from antiquity to the present, BHA indexes and abstracts books, periodicals, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogues.
 COFA Media Databases
  Consists of the following COFA Library indexes: Video/DVD, CD-i, CDs, Audiocasettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.
 Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
OzBiogs 
  Compilation of biographical information from 3 databases, NATSIVAD, AustArt and ARTEX, plus additional biographical data sourced by Discovery Media.

Related Databases

 ABI/INFORM Global
  Multidisciplinary.  Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
 Academic Research Library
  Academic Research Library covers information in the social sciences and the humanities generally, but also has some content in science and technology.  Over 2300 journals are indexed, with about 1400 of these available in full text.
Alternative Press Index
  Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere.  Includes all articles of more than five paragraphs.
 America: History and Life
  Indexes journals, book reviews, dissertations on North American history and culture.
 APAIS: Australian Pubilc Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary databases. Comprehensively indexes over 220 Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.  From 1978 onwards..
APAIS Full Text
  The APAIS database, including full text of selected journals from the mid 1990s onwards.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  Indexes 1 100 international arts and humanities journals.
 AHB: Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Austalia's natural and cultural environment.
 Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Multidisciplinary and international coverage of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
 Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes international journals.
Design and Applied Arts Index
  An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and organisations etc.
 Education Index via Wilson Omnifile
  International, covering core journals in the education disciplines.
 Expanded Academic ASAP International
  Multidisciplinary.  Includes many full text articles from international journals.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present.  Indexes books, journals and dissertations.
 Humanities Full Text via Wilson Omnifile
  International, covering core periodicals in the humanities.  Selected full text coverage.
 Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland.  Corresponds tot the printed Index to Theses.
 Libraries Australia / Kinetica
  Provides access to several datatbases, most importantly the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in over 800 Australian libraries.
NATSIVAD
  Provides information on more than 1 500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.  Access via AVAD.
 Picture Australia
  Picture Australia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra, which links to pictoral images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia.  The service has a "hybrid" architecture with a centralised search index and distributed images.
 Project Muse
  Provides access to the full text of over 40 international, multidisciplinary John Hopkins University Press academic journals.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Index to PhD and Masters Theses from America and some overseas universities, including UNSW.
PsycINFO
  Indexes international journals and book chapters.
 Reader's Guide Abstracts Full Text: Mega Edition
  Covers abstracting and indexing for 240 international and multidisciplinary periodicals, as well as the full text of over 100 periodicals.  Full text coverage begins in 1994.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Social Science Plus
  Social Science Plus indexes the same 420 multidisciplinary and international titles as for HW Wilson Social Science Index with 220 journal available in full text.
 Social Sciences Citation Index
  This database covers 1 700 social sciences journals worldwide, with about 2 800 articles being added per week.  The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across the social sciences disciplines.
Social Sciences Index: SSI
  Core periodicals in various social sciences disciplines. UNSW Library holdings indicated for each citation retrieved.
 Sociological Abstracts
  The database draws information from an international selection of over 2 600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books and disseratations.
 Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega
  Multidisciplinary, provides abstracts/indexing of 2 730 journals from 1982, and makes the full text of 1 330 of these journals available from 1994 onwards.
 Women's Resources International
  Contains a number of databases: Women's Studies Abstracts (1984+); Women's Studies Database (1972+); Women's Studies Librarian (1970+ containing a variety of monographic resources); European Women from the Renaissance to Yesterday (1610+); POPLINE subset on Women (1964+); Women of Colour and Southern Women (1975+); Women's Health and Development (1995+).  A total of 186 000+ records are indexed by the above databases.