go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Sculpture Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Artcyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Australian art
  Alan McCulloch & Susan McCulloch. Rev ed. St Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1994
REF 709.9403/1
The Encyclopedia of sculpture
 
Antonia Bostrom (ed.). New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004
REF 735.2303/1/(1-3)
Encyclopedia of sculpture techniques
  John W. Mills. London: B.T. Batsford Ltd, 1990
REF731.4/1

Dictionaries

AKL Online: World Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World. It contains information on visual artists from all over the world, from antiquity to the present.
Artlex art dictionary
The dictionary of Australian artists: painters, sketchers, photographers and engravers to 1870
  Joan Kerr. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1992
REF709.94/7
Dictionaryof British sculptors 1660 - 1851
  Rupert Gunnis. New Rev. ed. London: The Abbey Library REFF730.9203/1
Dictionary of women artists
  Delia Gaze (ed.) London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997
REF709.22/22/(1-2)
A dictionary of women artists of Australia
  MaxGermaine. Roseville East: Craftsman House, 1991
REF709.22/17
Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs
  E. Benezit. Nouvelle ed. Paris: Grund, 1999
REFF709.203/2/(1-14)
International Directory of Arts
  Berlin : Kaupterverlag, [1952-
CFAREF 700.25/1
Kunsterlexikon internationale kunsterdatenbank = World biographical dictionary of artists
 
CD-ROM ed. Munchen, K.G. Saur, 2003-
REF709.2205/5 Housed on stand-alone PC in Reference
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.

Handbooks

Artist beware
  Michael McCann. New York: Lyons & Burford Publishers, 1992
REF702.89/5
Artists and Galleries of Australia
  Max Germaine. Roseville, NSW: Craftsman House, 1990
REF709.9403/8/(1-2)
The artist's manual: equipment, materials, techniques
  Stan Smith & H. F. Ten Holt (ed). Artarmon: Macmillan, 1980
REFF702.8/1
Australiansculptors
  Ken Scarlett. West Melbourne: Thomas Nelson, 1980
REF730.994/1
The colouring, bronzing and patination of metals
  Richard Hughes & Michael Rowe. New York: Watson Guptill Publications, 1991
REF739.15/1
The complete metalsmith: an illustrated handbook
  Tim McCreight. Rev. ed. Worcester, Massachusetts: Davis Publications, Inc., 1991
REF739.1/1
Danger! Artists at work
  Monona Rossol & Ben Bartlett. 2nd ed. Melbourne: Thorpe, 1996
REF 702.89/6
Hazarts
  Laurel McKenzie. Woolloomooloo: Arts Training Australia, 1993
REFF702.89/8
How to, where to : how to do an arts project, where to get help.
  Strawberry Hills, N.S.W. : Australia Council of Arts, 2004
CFAREF700.994/AUS/10
Heritage: the national women's art book
  Joan kerr (ed.) Roseville East: Craftsman House, 1995
REFF709.22/19
International directory of arts
  Berlin : Kaupterverlag current edition
CFAREF 700.25/1
Protect yourself: a kit written by artists about health and safety in the visual arts
  East Melbourne: Community Arts network, 1989
REF702.89/3
Sculpture index
  Jane Clapp. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1970
REF730.16/1/(1-3)
A world history of art
  Hugh Honour & John Fleming. 5th ed. London: Laurence King Publishing, 1999
REFF709/7

Discussion Groups

Novice Sculptors
  This group is for novice sculptors and experienced sculptors who are interested in mentoring.
Sculptor.Org
  Links to numerous sculpture chat groups.

Search for Sculpture or Installations Art material in the UNSW Library Resources Database