go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Textiles Subject Guide

Liz Williamson "Scarf-double layer"
Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Includes textile art, craft and design. Also has a list of Design Archives.
Fairchild's Dictionary of textiles
Print: CFAREF677.003/2 7th ed. 1995
 A classic dictionary, an ideal starting point for textile studies
 FiberArts-Online
  A portal for the creative textile arts and divided into four categories- techniques, sources, communities and trade. There are lots of webrings listed on the site.
 Textile: the journal of cloth and culture
 
This exciting new journal brings together research in textiles in an innovative and distinctive academic forum, and will be of interest to all those who share a multifaceted view of textiles within an expanded field. Representing a dynamic and wide-ranging set of critical practices, it provides a platform for points of departure between art and craft; gender and identity; cloth, body and architecture; labour and technology; techno-design and practice - all situated within the broader contexts of material and visual culture.
Print: CFA746.05/7 Vol. 1, Issue 1 (Mar 2003)-
 

Related Subject Guides