go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Time-Based Art Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Art Full Text
  Based on Art Abstracts with full-text coverage for selected periodicals.
 Art Index Retrospective
  A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
 Artbibliographies Modern
  Abstracts of the current literature of Modern Art, Architecture, Photography and Design sourced from journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations and exhibition reviews.
 AustArt Index
  It includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia from 1987 onwards.
Factiva
  Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
Film Indexes Online
  Film Index International is a filmography that gives international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. Its content includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. All eras of film-making are covered - from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits. The AFI Catalog documents around 46,000 American films from 1893-1958 and 1961-1970. More than 17,500 entries cover the early years of American film from 1893 to 1910.
Media Art Histories Archive
  This digital repository is created to allow scholars researching the Histories of Art, Science and Technology to self archive their works on the internet in full or partial text format. All copyrights remain with the author and/or their publisher.The Media Art History Project offers a basis for attempting an evolutionary history of the audiovisual media, from the laterna magica to the panorama, phantasmagoria, film, and the virtual art of recent decades. It is an evolution with breaks and detours; however, all its stages are distinguished by a close relationship between art, science, and technology.


Related Databases

 ABI/INFORM Global
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
 Alternative Press Index
  Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere. Includes all articles of more than five paragraphs.
 America: History & Life
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.
 APAIS Full Text: APAFT
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  Indexes 1,100 international arts and humanities journals.
AUSTLIT
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Multidisciplinary and international coverage of western-language periodical articles, monographs, conference proceedings and anthologies.
 Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes international journals.
 Database of Virtual Art
  The Database of Virtual Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This complex, research-oriented overview of immersive, interactive, telematic and genetic art has been developed in cooperation with established media artists, researchers and institutions.
 Digital Dissertations
  Index to PhD and Masters Theses from American and some overseas universities, including UNSW. Postgraduate students and academics can order theses from this database by inquiring at Information Desks in the appropriate Special Library. This database is also known as Proquest Digital Dissertations.
 Education Index via Omnifile
  International, covering core journals in the education disciplines.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles from international journals.
 Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present. Indexes books, journals and dissertations.
 Humanities Index
  International, covering core periodicals in the humanities.
 Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed INDEX TO THESES.
JSTOR
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed INDEX TO THESES.
 Kinetica
  Provides access to several databases, the most important being the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in 850 Australian libraries.
 MLA International Bibliography
  Language; Literature; Linguistics; Folklore; Poetry; Drama; French; German; Spanish; Japanese; Korean; Indonesian; Modern Greek; English; Film
Music Index
  640 international music periodicals.
 Project Muse
  Provides access to the full text of over 40 international, multidisciplinary John Hopkins University Press academic journals.
PsychINFO
  Indexes international journal articles and book chapters.
 Reader's Guide Abstracts Full Text: Mega Edition
  Covers abstracting and indexing for 240 international and multidisciplinary periodicals, as well as the full text of over 100 periodicals. Full text coverage begins in 1994.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Social Science Plus
  Social Sciences Plus indexes the same 420 multidisciplinary and international titles as for HW Wilsons Social Science Index. Of these, 220 are provided in full text.
 Social Sciences Index: SSI
  Core periodicals in various social sciences disciplines. UNSW Library holdings indicated for each citation retrieved.
 Sociological Abstracts
  The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega
  Multidisciplinary, provides abstracts/indexing of 2,730 journals from 1982, and makes the full text of 1,330 of these journals available from 1994 onwards.

Women's Resources International
  Contains a number of databases: Women Studies Abstracts (1984+); Women's Studies Database (1972+); Women's Studies Librarian (1970+) - containing a variety of monographic resources; European Women from the Renaissance to Yesterday (1610+); POPLINE subset on Women (1964+); Women of Color and Southern Women (1975+); Women's Health and Development (1995). A total of 186,000 + records are indexed by the above databases.