go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Time-Based Art Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Journals

American cinematographer
  Q778.505/2  Vol.57, No.9 (Sept. 1976)-Vol.72, No.12 (Dec. 1991)
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Chemical Abstracts
American film
  Q791.4305/8 Vol.4, No.9 (July/Aug. 1979)-Vol.17, No.1 (Jan/Feb. 1992)
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents
Arts Journal
  Articles on dance, media, music, publishing, theatre, visual arts and people.
Art Journals Online (Artsource)
  Over 20 titles including Arts Journal, Ceramics Monthly, CinemaSpace, Fineart Forum, FUSE, Leonardo On-Line, Mediamatic, New Art Examiner, Postmodern Culture, Pottery Making Illustrated, Studio Potter and Umbrella.
Australian screen education (Refereed)
  302.2304/4  No.20/21 (Summer 1999)-
Indexed in AustArt Index; Film Literature Index
Bright lights film journal
  Bright Lights - Gary Morris and Gregory Battle, Portland, Oregon. Subjects: movie analysis, international film, motion pictures
1996-
Camera obscura
  791.4305/20 No.3/4 (Summer 1979)-
Indexed in Alternative Press Index; Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities
Canadian Journal of Film Studies
  Scholarly journal published by the Film Studies Association of Canada.
Cantrills filmnotes
  778.505/1  No.1 (Mar. 1971)-No.93/100 (2000)
Indexed in Film Literature Index; AustArt Index
Cineaste
  Q791.4305/4  Vol.8, No.2 (Fall 1977)-
Indexed in Alternative Press Index; Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Current Contents
Cinema journal : journal of the Society of Cinematologists
  Only available electronically
CineText
  Online bilingual journal and resource centre based at the University of Vienna.
Cine-tracts
  791.4305/15  Vol.1, No.3 (Fall 1977/Winter 1978)-
Indexed in Alternative Press Index; Film Literature Index
Cinefex
  778.5305/2  No.11 (Jan. 1983)-
Indexed in Film Literature Index; International Index to Film Periodicals
Cinema papers (Refereed)
  Q791.4305/3  Jan. 1974-
Indexed in Film Literature Index; AustArt Index; APAIS
Coil: journal of the moving picture
  791.4305/30 No.5 (1997)-No.9/10 (2000)

Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
  Publishes the Electronic Journal of Communication and has a link to the ComWeb MegaSearch engine.
Computer music
  780.28505/1  Issue 48  (July 2002)-
Computer music journal
  Vol.25, issue 1 (2001)-
Continuum : an Australian journal of the media(Refereed)
  791.4099405/1 Vol.1, No.1 (1987)-
Indexed in AustArt Index; APAIS; International Index to Film Periodicals
Electronic musicological review
  Universidade Federal do Parana.
1996-
Encore
  791.4305/27  Vol.11, No.10 (July 1993)-Vol.16, No.2 (1998)
Film comment
  Q791.4305/6 Vol.14, No.2 (1978)-
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents
Film criticism
  Only available electronically
Film journal international
  Only available electronically (2001+)
Film quarterly  (Refereed)
  791.4305/1 Vol.31, No.2 (Winter 1977/78)-
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents; Film Literature Index
Filmnews
  F791.4305/1 Vol.9, No.4 (1979)-Vol.25, No.5 (1995)
Indexed in AustArt ; Film Literature Index
Films in Review
  High quality American film review journal, which commenced publication in 1909.
Framework: the Journal of Cinema and Media
  Published by the Institute of Communication Studies, University of Leeds the international journal is dedicated to plural approaches to film and media.
Future music
  780.285/1 2000-
The Hollywood Reporter
  News magazine covering the entertainment and media worlds, with film and television production listings, music news and international news.
IF: independent filmmakers journal
  791.4305/29 Issue 4 (Dec/Jan. 1997/98)-
Indexed in AustArt Index


Independent: film and video monthly
  791.4305/25 Vol.14, No.6 (Aug/Sept. 1991)-
Indexed in Alternative Press Index; Film Literature Index; AustArt Index
The Journal of popular film and television
  Only available electronically
The Journal of religion and film
  University of Nebraska, Omaha. Subjects: religion, film, communication science, theology
1997-

Jump cut: a review of contemporary media(Refereed)
  791.4305/18 No.1 (1974)-
Indexed in Alternative Press Index; Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Film Literature Index
Kinema
  University of Waterloo. Subjects: film, motion pictures, movies
1993-
Leonardo (Refereed)
  Q705/3  Vol.7, No.1 (1974)-
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery; Current Contents
Leonardo Music Journal
  Q705/3 Vol.1, No.1 (1991) -Vol.12 (2002)
Media, culture and society (Refereed)
  302.2305/1 Vol.1, No.3 (July 1979)-Vol.20, No.4 (1998)
Indexed in Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents;
DAAI
Media information Australia (Refereed)
  302.2305/3 Vol.1, No.1 (1976)-No.76 (1995)
Indexed in AustArt Index; APAIS; Australian Education Index
Media International Australia (Refereed)
  302.2305/3 No.77 (1995)-
Indexed in AustArt Index; APAIS; Australian Education Index
Media Online Focus
  The British Universities Film & Video Council promtes the production, study & use of film & related media in higher education & research.
Mediamatic
  791.45305/1 Vol.1, No.1 (May 1986)-Vol.10, No.1 (1999)
Indexed in ArtBibliographies Modern
Mesh: journal of modern image
  791.4305/28 No.5 (1995)-
Metro: media and education magazine
  Q778.505/1 No.31 (1975)-
Indexed in AustArt Index
Metro education (Refereed)
  302.2305/4  No.7 (1996)-No.19 (1999)
Indexed in AustArt Index; Film Literature Index
M/C: A Journal of Media and Culture
  Published by the Media & Culture Studies Centre, University of Queensland.
Millenium film journal
  791.4305/26 No.23/24 (Winter 1990/91)-
Indexed in Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents
New cinemas : journal of contemporary film
  Only available electronically (2002+)
NMA: new music articles
  780.5/1 Vol.1 (1982)-Vol.10 (1991)

Option: music alternatives
  780.5/2  No.21 (July/Aug. 1988)-No.80 (1998)

Quarterly review of film and video : QRFV
  Only available electronically
RealTime/OnScreen
  Australian arts magazine encompassing the arts and education, film, the visual arts, sound, performance and festivals.
The Roctober
  781.6605/1 No.38 (Spring 2004)-
Scope: an on-line journal of film studies
  Published by the Institute of Film Studies, University of Nottingham.
2000-
Screen
  791.4305/11 Vol.15, No.1 (1974)-

Screening the Past
  An international, refereed, electronic journal of visual media and history, published by the La Trobe University, School of Arts and Media.
Senses of Cinema
  An Australian online film journal devoted to the discussion of cinema, including upcoming screenings, film festivals, news and links to other film sites.
Sight and sound
  Q791.4305/2 Vol.44, No.1 (1974)-
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents
Sound journal
 
School of Drama, Film & Visual Arts. Subjects: sounds, music, performing arts
1998-
Straight no chaser: interplanetary sounds
  781.6505/1  No.2, issue 28 (2003)-
Wide angle
  791.4305/21 Vol.1, No.3 (1976)-
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents

Wire
  780.5/5  Issue 195 (May 2000)-
Indexed in Music Index

Time-Based Art journals in the COFA and UNSW Libraries
Search by title for specific journals: the catalogue will give the location and which issues of the journal are held. The COFA Library prefix is CFA.

Search the UNSW Library Resources Database for Motion Pictures or Video Art journals

Journals not held in the COFA and UNSW Libraries
Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL) by title for specific journals.