go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Time-Based Art Subject Guide - Internet Links

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links


Gateways

PhotoGraphic Libraries
  Sites of still and moving images, stock images, media services, photo agencies, ad agencies, clip art and graphics provide a source for libraries, education centres and picture researchers researching visual communications.
BUBL Film Studies
  A catalogue of Film Studies Internet resources provided by BUBL Link Information Service operating out of the Andersonian Library, Strathclyde University, Glascow.
World Wide Arts Resources
  A gateway to arts and cultural sites on the Web.
Art on Film Online
  Art on Film Online is a clearinghouse for information about film, video, CD-ROM and other interactive productions on fine arts, architecture, photography, decorative arts, and related topics.
Ubu Web
  Definitive source for Visual, Concrete + Sound.

Councils/Associations/Organisations

Digital Media Fund
Film Victoria's Digital Media Fund aims to position Victoria as the multimedia content capital of Australia. The Digital Media Fund works with online broadcasters, content creators and production houses to develop a strong multimedia industry in Victoria, by supporting digital media projects through its accord and funding programs.
Metro Screen Ltd
Offer facilities for production, post-production and new media plus training, advice and equipment hire in video and new media.
Screenrights - The Audiovisual Copyright Society Ltd
Collecting society for owners of copyright in audiovisual works.
Film Australia
Film Australia is creating an audio-visual record of Australian life, through the commissioning, distribution and management of programs that deal with Australian life.

Artists

Videotage
Hong Kong-based media artist collective showcasing both local and international media artists' works.
Flicker
Links to alternative cinematic sites on the web, including film/video artists, venues, resources, festivals and images. Many of the artists' films mentioned on the site can be purchased online.
New Media Encyclopedia
A multi-lingual reference work for new media art, bringing together four major European collections.
Electronic Arts Intermix
Clearinghouse for international artists' video and new media works from the 1960's to the present.

Cinema History

The complete history of the discovery of cinematography
The site is constructed by the film historian and author, Paul Burns, and covers the history of cinematography over the centuries.
The Media Theory Site
Hosted by David Gauntlett, Institute of Communication Studies, University of Leeds with links to media and popular culture sites, as well as publishing Framework, an online media journal.
Motion Picture & Television Reading Room
The Library of Congress' film archives include downloadable film clips.

Film-Video Database

The Internet Movie Database
A commercial site, which has a comprehensive coverage of movies, from their early days to the present. Search by personality, film title, genre, technical crew.
The Media Theory Site
Hosted by David Gauntlett, Institute of Communication Studies, University of Leeds with links to media and popular culture sites, as well as publishing Framework, an online media jouranl.
Motion Picture & Television Reading Room
The Library of Congress' film archives include downloadable film clips. .

Film Libraries

Screen Sound Australia : National Sound and Screen Archive
Collects, preserves and provides access to Australia's audiovisual heritage.
Australian Centre for the Moving Image
ACMI is responsible for the promotion of the moving image, with a charter to develop collections, exhibitions, events and educational resources within a national and global environment.?he focus of our activities is within our new facility at Federation Square in Melbourne, but the Centre is also a lending collection, an online presence and an international contributor to research and development of screen works.

Film Production

Cyber Film School
Learn online-movie making and movie-making online. Lots of links and articles on filmmaking on this site, which was selected fourth among Computerlife magazine's "101 Great Hangouts Online."

Sound Art - Experimental Music

Clan Analogue
CLAN Analogue is an Australian collective of electronic sound composers, visual artists, coders, djs, video artists, writers and designers. CLAN is a diverse group working in sound, design, video, live events, publishing, Internet and broadcasting.
New American Radio
Commissions and distributes sound artists works.
KunstRadio
Archives and performances of international sound artists' works available for download.

Technology

Kodak Motion Picture Imaging
Supplier of photographic and digital imaging technologies.
Atlab
Atlab Image and Sound specialises in the design, supply and installation of Cinema projection and sound equipment.
Media 100
Media 100 is a leading provider of digital media software and systems for creating high quality video and audio on the Internet, DVD, CD-Rom and broadcast media.