go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Time-Based Art Subject Guide

;
Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

The Aurum film encyclopedia science fiction
  Hardy (ed.) London: Aurum, 1991
REF791.43656/1
The bent lens: a world guide to gay & lesbian film
  Kilda, Vic.: Australian Catalogue Co.,1997
REF791.43653/2
Encyclopedia of animated cartoons
  Jeff Leaburg. New York: Facts on File, 1991
REF791.433/1
Encyclopedia of early cinema
  edited by Richard Abel, London; New York : Routledge, 2005
REF791.4303/19
Encyclopedia of Indian cinema
  Ashish Rajadhyaksha & Paul Willemen. London: BFI, 1994
REF791.430954/1
Images in the dark: an encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video
  Raymond Murray. New York: Plume, 1996
REF791.43653/1
The Macmillan international film encyclopedia.
  Ephraim Katz. 3rd ed. London: Macmillan, 1998
REF791.4303/16

Dictionaries

Complete film dictionary
  Ira Konigsberg. 2nd ed. New York: Penguin, 1997
REF791.4303/10
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
  Roberta E. Pearson & Philip Simpson (ed.) London: Routledge, 2001
REF791.4303/18
Filmmakers dictionary
  Ralph S. Singleton. Beverly Hills, CA: Lone Eagle Publishing Co., 1990
REF791.4303/8
The international dictionary of films and filmmakers
  Christopher Lyon (ed.) Chicago: St James Press, 1985
REF791.4303/7/1-4


Guides

The Australian film and television companion
  Tony Harrison. East Roseville, NSW: Simon & Schuster, 1994
REF791.4503/2
The BFI companion to the Western
  Edward Buscombe (ed.) New ed. London: Andre Deutsch, 1993
Encore directory 2001
  Brenda McLean (ed.) Chatswood, NSW: Reed Business Information, 2001
REF791.4303/17
Get the picture: essential data on Australian film, television, video and new media
  5th ed. Sydney: AFI, 1998
REF791.430994/11
A glossary of film terms
  Written and designed for the Web by Joel Schlemowitz
International guide for electronic media art distribution
  Peter Callas. North Sydney: AFI, 1993
REF700.688/1
Kemps film TV & video handbook 1997
  41st ed. London: Variety Media Publications, 1997
REF791.4302/1
Lesbian film guide
  Alison Darren. London: Cassell, 2000
REF791.43653/3
The motion picture guide
  Jay Robert Nash & Stanley Ralph Ross. Chicago: Cinebooks, 1985
REF791.4303/2
The Oxford companion to Australian film
  Brian McFarlane (et al) (ed.) South Melbourne: OUP: 1999
REF791.430994/14
The psychotronic video guide
  Michael J. Weldon. New York: St Martin's Press, 1996
REF791.436353/1
The seventh Virgin film guide
  London: Virgin Books, 1998
REF791.4303/15
Time out film guide
  Tom Milne (ed.) 3rd ed. London: Penguin, 1993
REF791.4303/11
The women's companion to international film
  Annette Kuhn (ed.) Berkley: University of California Press, 1990
REF791.4303/12
Women filmmakers and their films
  Amy L. Unterburger (ed.) Detroit: St James Press, 1998
REF791.43082/1
World film directors: Volume 1 1890-1945; Volume 2 1945-1985
  John Wakeman (ed.) New York: H. W. Wilson, 1987
REF791.430233/2

Discussion Groups

Screensite
  Sponsored by the Telecommunications & Film Department, University of Alabama for teachers, students & scholars of film to share their pedagogical experiences.

Search for Film or Video Art in the UNSW Library Resources Database