go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Education & Training
 
Tours and Events
Online Training
  ELISE
  LILT
  How to Use ... Guides
  Database Helpsheets
  Teach Yourself Legal Research
  Guide to Legal Research
   Sources of Law
   Australian Legislation
   Australian Case Law
   Australian Secondary Sources
   English Law
   United States Law
   Canadian Law
   New Zealand Law
   Other Countries
   European Union Law
   International Law
   Legal Citation
   Legal Databases
   Internet Links
  EndNote
  Medicine Online Tutes
Research Consultations
Information Literacy
Education & Training> Online Training> Guide to Legal Research> European Union Law

Guide to Legal Research - European Union Law


The European Union came into being in 1993 with the ratification of the Maastricht Treaty by the 12 member states of the European Communities. The Union comprises a number of institutions, the major ones being:

  • European Commission
  • European Council
  • Council of the European Union
  • European Parliament
  • Court of Justice of the European Communities
Europa, the European Union's server, provides access to information on European Union institutions including their formation and operation. It also provides links to governmental information from all member states.

EUR-Lex offers multilingual, full text coverage of a wide range of legal information, including the founding treaties, binding and non-binding legislation, opinions and resolutions issued by the EU Institutions and consultative bodies and the case law of the European Court of Justice. It also has the full text of the Union's official journal publications.



European Union Primary Sources

Treaties and Legislative Instruments

Foster, NG and CJ Fletcher (eds), Blackstone's EC legislation
Provides a selection of major legislative instruments.
Print: L/KW5/B2/8 [Check LRD]

European current law.
Provides recent legislation in digested form and a cumulative table of treaty provisions referred to.
Print: L/KV10/E1 1992-

Legislative information can also be found on Lexis, Westlaw (via Sirius), or for free on the European Union Internet Resources site at Berkeley.

Halsbury's statutes
Volume 50 contains the treaties establishing the European Communities.
Print: L/KF23/H4

Smit, H and P Hertzog, The Law of the European Economic Community : a commentary on the EEC Treaty
Print: L/KC1009/S1/1 [Check LRD]

Treaties can also be found on Lexis, Westlaw (via Sirius), or for free on the European Union Internet Resources site at Berkeley.



Law Reports

Reports of Cases Before the Court (Court of Justice of the European Communities)
Print: L/KW51/R1 1954/56-1989

Reports of Cases Before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance
Print: L/KW51.8/R1 1990-1991, 1995
Recent case law can also be found on the Court of Justice web site.

The All England Law Reports : European Cases
L/KF60/A5 1995-
Also available on Lexis. Go to: Legal (excluding U.S.) > United Kingdom > Case Law > England and Wales Reported and Unreported Cases.

Common Market Law Reports
Print: L/KC1006.2/C1 Vol. 1 (1962)-
Also available on Westlaw (via Sirius).

European Commercial Cases
Print: L/KC1006.2/E1 Vol. 1 (1978)-
Also available on Westlaw (via Sirius).

C.M.L.R. Antitrust Reports
Print: L/KC1006.2/C1 Pt. 1 (Jan. 1991)-
Also available on Westlaw (via Sirius).

A digest of cases, arranged by subject, can be found in European Law Digest (1981-1991) and European Current Law (1992- ).
Print: L/KV10/E1

A number of other related report series are also available on Westlaw (via Sirius).



European Union Secondary Sources

Guides and Reference Books

The Library holds a number of useful reference books and guides on EU law.

Toth AG, The Oxford Encyclopaedia of European Community Law
Print: LREF/K129/T1/1

De Fouly C, Glossary of EC Terms and Acronyms
Print: LREF/KW7/D1/1

Mathijsen PSRF, A Guide to European Union Law
Print: L/KC1009/M1/6 [Check LRD]

Lasok KPE and Lasok D, Law and Institutions of the European Union
Print: L/KW86/L1/7 [Check LRD]

Monar J et al (eds), Butterworth's Expert Guide to the European Union
Print: L/KW70.1/B1/1 [Check LRD]

Cuthbert M, European Union Law Nutshell
Print: L/KW71/C6/3 [Check LRD]

Dashwood A [et al], Wyatt & Dashwood's European Union Law
Print: L/KW71/W1/4-4B [Check LRD]



Periodical Indexes


A component of the larger Legal Journals Index, it contains entries from English language sources on the law of the EU and European countries.


A useful source of references to articles on EU law from non-common law jurisdictions.