go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Education & Training
 
Tours and Events
Online Training
  ELISE
  LILT
  How to Use ... Guides
  Database Helpsheets
  Teach Yourself Legal Research
  Guide to Legal Research
   Sources of Law
   Australian Legislation
   Australian Case Law
   Australian Secondary Sources
   English Law
   United States Law
   Canadian Law
   New Zealand Law
   Other Countries
   European Union Law
   International Law
   Legal Citation
   Legal Databases
   Internet Links
  EndNote
  Medicine Online Tutes
Research Consultations
Information Literacy
Education & Training> Online Training> Guide to Legal Research> Legal Databases

Guide to Legal Research - Legal Databases

The following table is designed to help you select the right legal database for a particular legal research task. Access is available online for UNSW staff and students and requires you to login using your staff/student number and UniPass when off-campus.

 
Australian
International
Legislation
LawOne/TimeBase (Commonwealth and state)
 
LexisNexis AU (by subject)
 
CCH Library (by subject)
EUR-Lex (EU) 
 
Lexis (U.S. & Internatonal)
 
Westlaw (U.S. & International)
Legislation
(Finding Aids)
 
 
Case Law
(Reports)
 
 
EUR-Lex (EU)
 
Lexis (U.S. & International)
 
Westlaw (U.S. & International)
Case Law
(Finding Aids)
 
 
 
Journal Articles
AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service)
 
AATD (Australian Accounting and Taxation Database)
 
AFPD (Australian Federal Police Database)
 
IREL (Australian Industrial Relations Database)
 
Taxabs (Australian Taxations Abstracts)
 
 
CINCH (Australian Criminology Database)
Hein Online (U.S. & Canada)
 
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Non-common law jurisdictions)
 
Index to Legal Periodicals (U.S. & International)
 
Legal Journals Index # (U.K. & Europe)
 
LegalTrac (U.S. & International)
 
Lexis (U.S. & International)
 
Rave (International)
 
Westlaw (U.S. & International)
Secondary Sources
 
 
 
 
LexisNexis AU
 
 
 
 
Lexis (U.S. & International)
 
Westlaw (U.S. & International)

* Part of LBC's Lawbook Online
# Part of Sweet & Maxwell's Current Legal Information