go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Education & Training
 
Tours and Events
Online Training
  ELISE
  LILT
  How to Use ... Guides
  Database Helpsheets
  Teach Yourself Legal Research
  Guide to Legal Research
   Sources of Law
   Australian Legislation
   Australian Case Law
   Australian Secondary Sources
   English Law
   United States Law
   Canadian Law
   New Zealand Law
   Other Countries
   European Union Law
   International Law
   Legal Citation
   Legal Databases
   Internet Links
  EndNote
  Medicine Online Tutes
Research Consultations
Information Literacy
Education & Training> Online Training> Guide to Legal Research> Internet Links

Guide to Legal Research - Internet Links


The following links are to freely available public web sites. For links on a particular subject, see the subject guides and for more detailed information on legal research, see Guide to Legal Research.

Legal Research

Alphabetical Listing of Electronic Law Journals (Bora Laskin Law Library at the University of Toronto)
Lists journal titles available on Lexis or Westlaw.

Internet Lawyer (Social Sciences Information Gateway - SOSIG)
A teach-yourself tutorial on internet information skills for lawyers.

LLRX.com
An online journal dedicated to providing legal and library professionals with up to date information on online research and technology-related issues.


Subject Directories

Weblaw
A co-operative legal web portal to resources for Australian legal researchers.

Law Internet Resources (Department of the Parliamentary Library)
Includes links to legislation, case law, and secondary materials.



Australia

General Sites

AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
Commonwealth and State legislation and case law.

SCALEplus (Commonwealth Attorney General's Department)
Provides Commonwealth and non-self governing territory legislation.

Lawlink (NSW Attorney General's Department)
Includes reports and submissions, crime statistics, information on courts and tribunals.

NSW Legislation (NSW Parliamentary Counsel's Office)
Includes legislation "as made", in force and selected historical versions.

GovPubs: the Australian Government Publications guide
A guide to finding Australian government publications, such as Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers, located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet.

Australian Law Reform Commission
Provides information on current and past inquiries and the fulltext of many reports and papers. The Australian State and Territory Law Reform Sources page provides links to state Commissions.


Parliaments



Commonwealth Courts



New South Wales Courts



Professional Associations




United Kingdom

United Kingdom Parliament

Lawlinks (University of Kent)
A comprehensive index of UK and EU legal information available online.

British and Irish Legal Information Institute BAILII


United States

Legal Information Institute (LII) via Cornell University

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Access to Bills, Public Laws, Congressional Record, etc.

Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
The Library of Congress's guide to law online.


Canada

Guide to Online Law: Canada
Links to major resources from the Library of Congress.

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
A Federation of Law Societies of Canada initiative, providing case law and legislation online.


Other Countries

World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Acts as both a web directory and a repository of case law and legislation.

Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World (Library of Congress)
Links to major web resources listed alphabetically by country.