go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Taxation Law Subject Guide


Texts | Legislation & Cases | Loose-leaf
 
 


Legislation

The following links provide online access to Australian legislation, including Acts and regulations. The UNSW Freehills Law Library also holds print copies of Australian legislation, which may be useful for locating older, superseded legislation.

ComLaw
ComLaw is the Commonwealth Attorney General's Department portal to commonwealth legislation including Acts, Bills and Legislative Instruments.
AustLII
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Commonwealth, state and territory legislation.
LawNow (LexisNexis AU)
Provides current and historical Acts and regulations for NSW, Victoria, Queensland and the ACT.  Also provides information on the progress of Bills through Parliament.
ATO Legal Database
Provides the full text of core Federal tax legislation.
CCH Tax Library
Provides the full text of taxation legislation by subject.
Taxpoint
News services covering the latest tax news and issues; Tax commentaries covering taxes such as capital gains, superannuation and fringe benefits tax; Analytical services covering commentary-style services for a detailed understanding of federal taxation law.

Interpreting Legislation

Extrinsic materials assist in interpreting legislation and include Bill, explanatory memoranda, explanatory statements and ministerial determinations.

ATO Legal Database : Extrinsic Materials 
  Includes explanatory memoranda and explanatory statements for regulations and legislation.
Tax Solution Finder (CCH) 
  Provides the full text of tax Bills and explanatory memoranda and ministerial determinations.
ComLaw
  ComLaw provides access to Commonwealth Bills and explanatory memoranda.
Commonwealth Parliamentary Debates (Hansard)
  Provides the full text of parliamentary debates including Second Reading Speeches.

Rulings and Determinations

Rulings and determinations of the ATO are available online via the following sources.

ATO Legal Database : Rulings and Determinations 
  Provide rulings and determinations made by the ATO.
CCH Tax Library 
  Includes ATO rulings in a number of areas such as income tax, GST and FBT.
ATO Legal Database : ATO Case Decision Summaries
  Provides summaries of ATO tax case decisions.

Cases

Most Australian taxation cases are available via the following online databases. The UNSW Freehills Law Library collection contains print law reports which may be useful for locating older cases not available online. Print copies of law reports can be found by searching the Library's catalogue.

CaseBase (LexisNexis AU) 
  CaseBase allows you to search for a specific case, or cases by subject.  It provides the case's subsequent history as a precedent, the legislation and other cases considered in the decision and a digest summary of the case.  Links to full text are provided where available.
FirstPoint (Lawbook Online) 
  Firstpoint allows you to search or browse for Australian cases by subject areas or search by keywords.  A digest summary of the case is provided, along with information about legislation and cases considered in the judgment and the case's subsequent treatment as a precedent.
ATO Legal Database : Case Judgement
  Provides the full text of taxation cases from Australian courts, including Decision Impact Statements.  Also includes selected taxation cases  from New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.
AustLII 
  AustLII provides online access to recent Commonwealth, state and territory case law.
CCH : Australian Tax Cases (part of the CCH Tax Library)
  Company Law Cases are available via the CCH Corporations Law Library and Australian Tax Cases are available form the CCH Tax Library.

International Resources

The following sources provide a starting point for international legal research.

LexisNexis 
  LexisNexis provides authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications.  This database is an ideal place to start searching for international and foreign taxation law sources.
Westlaw 
  Westlaw provides access to international and foreign law legal resources.  Includes news, journals, legislation and cases.
WorldLII
  Provides free internet access to international and foreign legislation, case law and journals in full text. 
Current Legal Information 
  A UK service that inlcudes databases that index legal journals, provides digest sumaries of track the citation of cases and legislation in judgments.