go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Architecture Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, this database indexes the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. Updated weekly.
Architectural Publications Index - 1986+
  Accessed through the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library web site. Indexes over 300 journals, as well as books and audio visual material. Updated daily.
Art Full Text
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards. Full text from 1994.
ARTStor
Searchable database of more than 300,000 high quality downloadable digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Australian Architecture Database (ARCH)
  Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building; produced by the Stanton Library. 1980+
ARTbibliographies Modern
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
Art Index Retrospective
  Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also indexed.
Bibliography of the History of Art. BHA
  BHA covers the history of European and American art from antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from 2,500 periodicals. 1973+
Current Contents
  Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness database providing access to information published in over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.
JSTOR
  Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR opens at Advanced search. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas. Earlier articles do not have an abstract to search so researchers can search in the text of the article (a very broad search) or search in the title of the article (a narrow search). To search without book reviews, which are very numerous, see 'Narrow Your Search To': and tick only Article, e.g. These Types: Article Review Opinion piece Other items
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.

Related Databases

APAIS Fulltext: APAFT
 
A multidisciplinary service produced by the National Library of Australia which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers. APAIS comprehensively indexes approximately 250 journals. Overseas sources are also scanned for material on Australian subject matter. Coverage is 1978+
Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Australia's natural and cultural environment; produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. Coverage is 1987+
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
Building Code of Australia (BCA)
  The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia. It allows for variations in climate and geologic or geographic conditions.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Standards Australia Online 
  Standards Australia Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
archINFORM 
  This database for international architecture of the 20th century, originated from records of interesting building projects by architecture students. It includes over 12,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.
Guide to Maps available at UNSW Library
  Internet links to Australian and international map databases. Includes N.S.W. Departmant of Lands databases.