go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Astrophysics and Optics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

NASA Astrophysics Data System
This database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. It also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA , other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
Web of Science
  This database includes: Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index, and Arts & humanities citation index.
Science Direct
  Includes full-text scientific, medical and technical collection based on  journal titles from Elsevier. Compendex, Geobase and Medline included in the Abstract Databases set, some full-text also available here.
Proquest Science Journals full-text
  Searches can be limited to Peer Reviewed publications. Search other Proquest databases, including ABI Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
Expanded Academic
  Multidisciplinary database (including astronomy) which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
Access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Includes Inspec backfile. 1896-
Current Contents
Lists contents of science related journals.
MathSciNet
Consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from: Mathematical reviews, and: Current mathematical publications, 1940-
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Produced by the American Meteorological Society, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs.
ArXiv
ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Owned, operated and funded by Cornell University. Also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.

Related Databases

The GrayLIT Network makes the gray literature of U.S. Federal Agencies easily accessible over the Internet. It taps into the search engines of distributed gray literature collections, enabling the user to find information without first having to know which Agency has it. The GrayLIT Network is the world's most comprehensive portal to Federal gray literature.
Federal Agencies participating in this project are DoD, DOE, EPA, and NASA. Participation will be expanding as the site develops.
The NTIS Database, produced by the National Technical Information Service, is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
  Full text of Publications and standards. The database includes publications from 1988 to the present, and expands at the rate of more than 25,000 new pages per month.