go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
  Indexes key English language journals
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts  
includes research, applications and patents in the areas of biotechnology and bioengineering.
Compendex (Ei Village 2)
  The premier database for all aspects of the engineering discipline.
CSA Technology Research Database
  This comprehensive database provides a single mega-file of all the unique records available through its 3 components: the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database. The database content represents the most comprehensive and current coverage of the relevant serial and non-serial literature available.

Subfiles that make up the CSA Technology Research Database are also listed separately on Sirius.
Current Contents
  A multidisciplinary current awareness web resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.
Inspec (Ei Village 2)
  Access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing,  information technology and biomedical instrumentation
Medline (Ovid)
  Indexes medical literature worldwide.
MEDLINEplus
  MEDLINEplus from the National Library of Medicine has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to clinical trials. Updated daily
Materials research database with METADEX
  The subfiles are: Aluminium Industry Abstracts; Ceramics Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts (Ceramics, composites and polymers) Corrosion Abstracts, Materials Business File, METADEX and Weldasearch
ScienceDirect
  Multidisciplinary  full text database. 

Related Databases

 
ABI/Inform Global
  Indexes business and economics and transport management journals.  Useful for management issues.
ABI/Inform Trade and Industry
  Indexes business and economics and transport management journals.  Useful for management issues.
ACM Digital Library
  Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library.  Full text.
EMBASE
  Indexes biomedical and pharmaceutical journals.
Engine
  Indexes Australian conference proceedings, journals, technicl publications, books and unpublished work.  Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia
Expanded Academic
  Multidisciplinary database for all aspects of biomedical engineering
Graylit
  Makes grey literature of the U.S. Federal Agencies such as NASA easily accessible over the Internet.
IEEE Xplore
  Full text of IEEE standards journals and conferences.
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
  Inis is the world's leading information system on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology
NTIS
  US Government reports.
Polymer Library
  Previously known as RAPRA Abstracts. Indexes 500 journals, as well as conference papers, patents, specifications and standards, books, reports, company literature, trade names, directories and data sheets. Coverage: International
Proquest Science Journals
 
Search other Proquest databases, including ABI Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
Scifinder Scholar
  Covers the worlds chemical literature.  Useful for components, material science, etc
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
SPIE Digital Library
  Full text of Spie Digital Library
Standards Australia Online
  Full text of current Australian Standards
Web of Science
    Multidisciplinary database. Analyses citation literature.