go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Building Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Build: Australian Building Construction & Engineering Database
 
Produced by the Building Information Resource Centre of CSIRO, this is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering field including fire technology. BUILD contains records dating from 1989 to February 2002 (including approximately 25% of earlier material from 1945 to 1988).
 Building Code of Australia (BCA)
The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia. It allows for variations in climate and geologic or geographic conditions.
 ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
 
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry is one of the Proquest databases. Search other Proquest databases, including ABI/INFORM Global and  ABI/INFORM Dateline, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.  All aspects of the building industry are covered with an emphasis on real estate and the business side. Fulltext coverage varies from journal to journal.
 Science Direct
  Fulltext collection based on 1800 journal titles published by Elsevier. Fulltext coverage varies from journal to journal. The bibliographic databases GEOBASE and MEDLINE may be searched at the same time as the fulltext journals.
 Iconda
  An international Construction Database that indexes journals, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports for building and construction. European emphasis. 1974+
Emerald
  Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership, marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles. Full-text database.
Standards Australia Online 
  Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.

Related Databases

Engine : Australian Engineering Database
  Indexes Australian conference proceedings, journals, technical publications; books, and unpublished work in the area of engineering generally. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia. 1980+
Compendex via Engineering Village 2
 
Compendex is a comprehensive general engineering database which includes structural and foundation engineering.
1884+. Updated weekly.
Current Contents
  Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness database providing access to information published in over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.
 Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, this database indexes the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. Updated weekly.
 Architectural Publications Index - 1986+
  Accessed through the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library web site. Indexes over 300 journals, as well as books and audio visual material. Updated daily.
 Australian Architecture Database (ARCH)
  Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building; produced by the Stanton Library. 1980+
APAIS Fulltext: APAFT
 
A multidisciplinary service produced by the National Library of Australia which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers. APAIS comprehensively indexes approximately 250 journals. Overseas sources are also scanned for material on Australian subject matter. Coverage is 1978+
Expanded Academic ASAP
Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
Scopus
 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.