go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Built Environment Images

Sources for images of use in the area of the built environment have been collected here. They are divided into General Image Sources and Specific Image Sources.
Please note: while images are freely available on the internet and may be used for reference purposes, re-publication will usually require the permission of the owner of the image.

General Image Sources

 Bridgeman Art Library
 
 Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make images available for reproduction purposes. Anyone may browse through the Bridgeman collection for personal or academic interest. Full-size image display is password controlled.
Grove Art Online / Image Links
 
 Searches by artist's name, title of work, date, and location of work. Provides links to images from external sources and from selected images from the Bridgeman Art Library (see above)
ArtServe
   Hosted by the Australian National University, this omnibus site concentrates on art & architecture mainly from the Mediterranean basin, Japan and  India, but also covers Islamic art and architecture, european and classical Greek and Roman. Includes panoramas.
  Architecture Visual Resources Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Architecture, including landscape architecture, city planning; fine arts; minor and technological arts.
 Digital Imaging Project (Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton College)
  More than 10,000 images from pre-historic to post-modern times. Includes lists of architects, buildings and historical sites.
  Images come from the collections of  the University of Michigan History of Art Department, the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, and the University of Michigan Museum of Art . Also included are images of Chicano Murals located in Los Angeles, from the personal collection of the photographer, Susan Atkins of Ann Arbor.
  AICT
  Excellent resource to assist in teaching art history created by Allan Kohl. Free to the educational community.
  Covers prehistoric to modern architecture. Compiled by Prof. Jeffrey Howe of Boston College.

Specific Image Sources

 The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
  The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the project is produced at the University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System.
Cities/Buildings Database
Contains over 5000 images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project. These have all been canned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. They are freely available to anyone  for use in the classroom, student study,
or for individual research purposes.
Perseus Project - Images
  A collection of 56,917 images on classical Greek and Roman themes from museums and institutions in various countries.
Stoa Image Gallery
  a dedicated image-server maintained by the Stoa Consortium for the use of scholars who would like to share, on an open access  basis, their digital photographs and digital videos related to Classics, Classical Archaeology, and the classical tradition. Includes the Nashville Parthenon.
 
This archive, currently consists of nearly 1,500 digitized images of American architecture (280 buildings) plus explanatory material
 Asian Historical Architecture
   A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage.  Here you can view over 8500 photos of 531 sites in seventeen countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.
Asia Society: the collection in context
  The Collection in Context presents the Asia Society's collection of nearly three hundred works of art in their historical and cultural context. The core of the collection was donated by Mr. and Mrs. John D. Rockerfeller 3rd. and includes masterworks from South, Southeast, and East Asia, dating from 2000 B.C.E. to the 19th century, reflecting the great achievements and wide diversity of Asian arts and cultures
 The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
  The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources. Made possible by the Chipstone Foundation, the project is produced at the University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System.
 The Great Buildings Collection
  This is an attractive and easy to use site that is searchable by building name, architect name, location, building type and architectural style.
 Images of Medieval Art and Architecture
  Alison Stones'  site. A collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh's  Library System's Digital Research Library to create searchable image databases for major medieval monuments. Images may be used for educational purposes.
 Portraits of Architects and Designers
  Portraits of a selection of architects with short biographical notes - from RIBA Architecture.com
 Visual Arts Data Service
  Contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture and the decorative arts. Provides access to thousands of images, arranged by artist and location. Registration required.
Deutschlands Architektur
  Views of  buildings from the German Republic arranged by city.
Renaissance and Baroque Architecture : Architectural History
  A collection of images that were scanned from slides taken by Professor C. W. Westfall and used in his survey course, Renaissance and Baroque Architecture University of Virginia, School of Architecture, Department of Architectural History.
Picture Catalogue (National Library of Australia)
  Contains approximately 45,000 paintings and 555,000 photographs held in the Pictures Collection of the National Library of Australia. Good resource for history of Australian architecture.
Picture Australia
  PictureAustralia is a web service based on metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra which links to pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. There are categories for 'Architecture' and ' Arts & Literature'.