go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Chemistry Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Internet Links


General Links

Chemistry.org
  Website of the American Chemical Society. Includes a wide range of resources for chemical professionals, academics and students. 
Caltech Library System : Chemistry
  California Institute of Technology. Large collection of chemistry sites arranged in directory style.
Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
  This guide, created in 1996, was designed for the specific needs of organic chemists. Its aim is to collect and independently annotate all useful organic chemistry sites and to present them in an intuitive way. Target audience: synthetic organic chemists involved in academic or industrial research.
Chemdex
  Sheffield's Chemdex has existed on the Web since 1993 and exists to maintain an international directory of chemistry on the internet.
ChemSoc
  Royal Society of Chemistry website. Information on this site is provided by over 30 national chemistry societies.
BUBL Link : Chemistry
  Bubl is a searchable database of web resources which are of academic relevance. Information is organised by Dewey Decimal Classification and browsable by subject. UK based.
ChemInfo
  ChemInfo, Chemical Information Sources, is designed to help people find and learn how to use chemical information resources on the Internet and elsewhere. [Indiana University]
 
'ChemWeb.com was launched in April 1997. It is now the largest online chemical community in the world. ChemWeb.com is a unique resource which combines a huge range of information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries and related disciplines. Membership is completely free.'

Chemical Data

Chemexper.com 
The CCD displays chemical supplier catalogs on the Internet in order to create a worldwide database. The CCD contains over 25,000 chemical structures, 4,000 MSDS and 50,000 products.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to chemical and physical property data. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.
ChemFinder
Indexes hundreds of sites containing more than 75,000 substances. Provides substance information such as physical properties and chemical structures and provides links to other sites.
ChemIDplus
A database of 350,000 chemical records, including over 85,000 with structures. Locator links allow immediate searching of other databases for information about a given chemical. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Hazardous Substances Databank
Main focus is toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. Includes comprehensive coverage of chemical and physical properties, chemical safety & handlin and, manufacturing and use. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SDBS : Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds. Includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory database of the compounds. (MS, 13C NMR, 1H NMR, ESR, IR, Raman). Over 30,000 compounds.
WebElements
The Periodic Table on the Web. For each element a menu containing some 30 or so categories of information is displayed. Use the menu to select whatever is of interest to you.
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
This page is an index to selected print and internet resources that contain chemical, physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, toxicological, and safety data. Arizona State University Libraries.
American Elements
A full guide to the chemical elements, with information on safety, thermal properties and other important information
Thermodex
  Contains records for printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data.

Material Safety Datasheets

MSDS : Oxford University
Chemical safety datasheets and other chemical safety links. Browse by alphabetical list. Includes over 20,000 entries. 
Where to find MSDS on the Internet
Collection of MSDS Internet sites. lists over 85 resources for free MSDS information. Links include: Government agencies such as OSHA, EPA and CDC; Universities such as Caltech, MIT, UC-Berkeley; Corporations of all sizes including IBM, Ford etc; and Individuals.
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
(National Library of Medicine, NLM).
Hazardous Chemicals Database
Provides access to information for over 20,000 hazardous chemicals. Search by  keyword, name, formula or registry number.
(Dr James K Hardy, Dept. Chemistry, University of Akron)
International Chemical Safety Cards
International Chemical Safety Cards summarise essential health and safety information on chemicals for their use by workers and employers in factories, agriculture, research, construction and other work places.
(International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre (CIS))

Societies & Organisations