go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Chemistry Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources


Dictionaries

CHEMnetBASE
Includes access to the online version of The Combined Chemical Dictionary. This includes: The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic & Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Natural Products; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs.
Dictionary of analytical reagents
PREF543.0103/1
Dictionary of inorganic compounds
PREF546.03/2[1-5]
Dictionary of organic compounds
PREF547.003/1
Macmillan dictionary of chemistry
PREF540.3/62
Dictionary of scientific biography
PREF509.203/2
McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific & technical terms
PREF503/69Q

Encyclopedias

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspect of chemical engineering and industrial chemistry. Corresponds to the latest 4th edition in content. Also available in print at : PREF660.3/54E
Covers all aspect of chemical engineering and industrial chemistry. Corresponds to the latest 6th edition in content. Also available in print at : PREF660.3/55B
Concise encyclopedia of chemistry
PREF540.3/67
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry
PREF546.03/3
Encyclopedia of analytical science
PREF543.003/4
Encyclopedic dictionary of chemical technology
PREF660.03/7
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
PREF503/31H

Handbooks

CHEMnetBASE
Includes access to the online versions of: The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Polymers: A Property Database; Properties of Organic Compounds and The Combined Chemical Dictionary
The online version of the 3rd and latest edition of Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry covers major developments in the field of organometallic chemistry since 1993.
Authoritative reference book of chemical and physical data. Corresponds to the latest 83rd edition in content. Also available in print at : PREF540.205/1
ENGnetBASE
ENGnetBASE provides online access to the full text of the CRC Press Engineering Handbook series.
International Critical Tables
Contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page. Also available in print at : PREF530.83/1(1-8)
Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook
This online edition of "Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook" covers all aspects of chemical engineering, from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.
Knovel Critical Tables
This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
The Aldrich library of 13C and IH FT NMR spectra
PREF538.36219/1/(1-3)
Aldrich library of infrared spectra
PREF547.3463/2C
Aldrich library of NMR spectra
PREF538.3/30B
Lange's handbook of chemistry
PREF540.2/2
The chemist's ready reference handbook
PREF543/159

Print Indexes

Chemical Abstracts : available electronically as Scifinder Scholar
PREF540.5/27
Gmelin Hanbuch der anorganischen Chemie
PREF 546.05/5 
Beilsteins Handbuch der organischen Chemie
PREF 547.005/8 

Other Reference Resources

Instrumentation reference book
PREF530.7/8A
Comprehensive organic chemistry
PREF547/163A/(1-6)
Official and standardised methods of analysis
PREF543/114A
The organic chemist's reference book: a companion volume to the dictionary of organic compounds
PREF547.003/3
Hazardous chemicals desk reference
PREF604.7/69A