go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Geography Subject Guide - Databases

Key Resources | Databases | Reference ResourcesInternet Links 

Databases

AESIS
 
Australia's national geoscience, minerals and petroleum database. Produced by the Australian Mineral Foundation. Contains more than 110,000 records to Australian literature in the earth sciences and indexes journals, reports, conference papers, maps and theses. Coverage from 1975 -2001.
 
For current information on Australia use GeoRef. GeoRef contains AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.
Applied Science and Technology
  Coverage of Wilson's periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, geographic information systems, geology, engineering and physics.
Geobase via ScienceDirect
  Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental and 'green' issues. Indexes 2000 journals, books, reports, theses. Corresponds to printed Geographical Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, Geological Abstracts and Oceanographic Literature Reviews, International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences & Geomechanics Abstracts.
GeoRef
 
Contains bibliographic references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology for US material from 1785 and other areas of the world from 1933. Corresponds to the American Geological Institute's GEOSCIENCE database, and covers four printed publications: Bibliography of North American Geology; Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America; Geophysical Abstracts; Bibliography and Index of Geology.
 
Also includes AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.

Related Databases

APAIS FullText
 
APAIS comprehensively indexes approximately 250 journals. Overseas sources are also scanned for material on Australian subject matter. APAIS also indexes very selectively from many other Australian journals and conference proceedings, as well as from overseas journals carrying articles with an Australian content.
 
Subject coverage includes geography.
Current Contents
  Indexes over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. Updated weekly, it is available in seven discipline-specific editions.
Expanded Academic
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
JSTOR
  JSTOR provides a full text electronic archive of the back volumes of scholarly journals.
Proquest Science Journals
 
ScienceDirect
Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
Scopus
  Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.