go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Geography Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Encyclopedias

The Australian Encyclopedia
  SREF 919.4/204R(1-8)
The Encyclopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences
  PQ 551.03/9
Geographica: the complete illustrated reference to Australia and the World
  PREF912/163
Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia of Peoples and Cultures
  SQ 301.03/20

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Human Geography
  PREF 910.3/21F
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physical Geography
  MAPREF 910.0203/3
Glossary of Mapping Sciences
  PREF 526.03/3

Handbooks

Practical Handbook of Digital Mapping
  MAPREF526.0285/18

Print Indexes

Geographical Abstracts
 
PREF550.5/25

Other print resources

Griffith Taylor and "Australia Unlimited"
  S 363.910994/1
Phillip's Geographical Digest
  PQ 910.5/2
Who's Who in the History of Cartography
  PREF526/50

Standards

Australian Standards in print.
(Note: This collection is not being updated - current to Sept 2001. Use AS Online  to access the most recent version of Australian Standards.)
 

Maps

The Map Collection is located on Level 7.
 
Individual sheet maps
  Can be found using the Library Resources Database (LRD).
Atlases, street and road directories
 
The library has an up-to-date collection of general world atlases, such as The Times Atlas of the World (PATREF 912/31 Z) and atlases dealing with specific countries or parts of countries, such as the Atlas of New South Wales (PATREF912.944/8).
 
Atlases can be major sources of thematic maps, since they often concentrate on such themes as agriculture, oceanography, geology or regional history.