go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Geology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

AESIS
 
Australia's national geoscience, minerals and petroleum database. Produced by the Australian Mineral Foundation. Contains more than 110,000 records to Australian literature in the earth sciences and indexes journals, reports, conference papers, maps and theses. Coverage from 1975 -2001.
 
For up to date Australian information see GeoRef which includes AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps
Applied Science & Technology
  Coverage of Wilson's periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, geology, engineering and physics.
DIGS: Digital Imaging of Geological System
The DIGS® database is comprised of full-text exploration reports, cartographic, geological and topographic maps, plus documents and publications produced by the New South Wales Department of Primary Industries (Mineral Resources).
Energy Files
  On the EnergyFiles this site you will find over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. Searchable databases include Earthquake Engineering Abstracts and Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Geobase
  Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental and 'green' issues. Indexes 2000 journals, books, reports, theses. Corresponds to printed Geographical Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, Geological Abstracts and Oceanographic Literature Reviews, International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences & Geomechanics Abstracts.
GeoRef
 
Contains bibliographic references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology for US material from 1785 and other areas of the world from 1933. Corresponds to the American Geological Institute's GEOSCIENCE database, and covers four printed publications: Bibliography of North American Geology; Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America; Geophysical Abstracts; Bibliography and Index of Geology.
 
Also includes AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.

Related Databases

Current Contents
  Indexes over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
Expanded Academic
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Produced by the American Meteorological Society, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs.
Proquest Science Journals
 
ScienceDirect
  ScienceDirect offers access to over 1700 journals and three databases including Compendex and Geobase.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Web of Science delivers web based access to the citation indexes including Science Citation Index. The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines.