go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Geology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of applied geology
  PREF624.15103/4
Earth sciences encyclopedia online
Encyclopedia of geology
Encyclopedia of geology 
  PREF551.03/11/(1-5)
Encyclopedia of structural geology and plate tectonics
  PREF550.922/1 (1-5)
Encyclopedia of beaches and coastal environments
  PREF551.45703/1A

Dictionaries

Concise Oxford dictionary of earth sciences
  PREF550.3/24A
Collins dictionary of geology
  PREF551.03/8
Dictionary of earth sciences
Dictionary of mining, mineral and related terms
  PREF622.03/5

Other print resources

An index of mineral species and varieties arranged chemically
  PREF549.13/2A
Geologists and the history of geology
  PREF550.922/1 (1-5)
Statistics and data analysis in geology
  P550.182/4E-G Level 6

Standards

Australian Standards in print.
  Level 7 information desk
(Note: This collection is not being updated - current to Sept 2001. Use  AS Online  to access the most recent version of Australian Standards.)

Maps

The Map Collection is located on Level 7 of the Physical Sciences Library.
 
Individual sheet maps
  Can be found using the Library Resources Database (LRD).
Atlases, street and road directories
 
The library has an up-to-date collection of general world atlases, such as The Times Atlas of the World (PATREF912/31 Z) and atlases dealing with specific countries or parts of countires, such as the Atlas of New South Wales (PATREF912.944/9).
 
Atlases can be major sources of thematic maps, since they often concentrate on such themes as agriculture, oceanography, geology or regional history.