go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Industrial Design - Databases

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Design and Applied Arts Index
 Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective
The retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index. DAR provides coverage of more than 100 design and design-related journals most of which have ceased publication, but which are distinctly important to the development of design concepts in the early 20th century. Coverage from 1894 - 1986.
Design ProFILES
Provides information about more than 8,000 designers and design-related organisations that were influential in the 20th century world of design, including over 1,000 female designers.
 Science Direct
  Fulltext collection based on 1800 journal titles published by Elsevier. Fulltext coverage varies from journal to journal.
 Proquest Science Journals
 
 Art Full Text
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.Full text from 1994.
 Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, this database indexes the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. Updated weekly.
 Architectural Publications Index - 1986+
  Accessed through the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library web site. Indexes over 300 journals, as well as books and audio visual material. Updated daily.
Art Full Text
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards. Full text from 1994.
 Australian Architecture Database (ARCH)
  Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building; produced by the Stanton Library. 1980+
 Ergonomics Abstracts Online
   International abstracting service, covering the fields of ergonomics and human factors.
 Standards Australia Online
   Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards.

Related Databases

 ARTbibliographies Modern
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
Art Index Retrospective
  Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also indexed.
ARTStor
Searchable database of more than 300,000 high quality downloadable digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
 Bibliography of the History of Art. BHA
  BHA covers the history of European and American art from antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from 2,500 periodicals. 1973+
Compendex
  Compendex is a general engineering database which covers all branches of engineering in some depth. 1884+.
Current Contents
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness database providing access to information published in over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.