go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Landscape Architecture Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources |Internet Links 

Databases

 Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Architectural Publications Index - 1986+
  Accessed through the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library web site. Indexes over 300 journals, as well as books and audio visual material. Updated daily.
Art Full Text
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.Full text from 1994.
 Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) 
  Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building; produced by the Stanton Library. 1980+
 ARTbibliographies Modern
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Science Direct
  Fulltext collection based on 1800 journal titles published by Elsevier. Fulltext coverage varies from journal to journal.
 Art Index Retrospective 
  Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also indexed.
 Bibliography of the History of Art. BHA 
  BHA covers the history of European and American art from antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from 2,500 periodicals. 1973+
 Current Contents 
  Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness database providing access to information published in over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.

Related Databases

APAIS Fulltext: APAFT
 
A multidisciplinary service produced by the National Library of Australia which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers. APAIS comprehensively indexes approximately 250 journals. Overseas sources are also scanned for material on Australian subject matter. Coverage is 1978+
 Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Australia's natural and cultural environment; produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. Coverage is 1987+
Compendex via Engineering Village 2
 
Compendex is a comprehensive general engineering database which includes structural and foundation engineering.
1884+. Updated weekly.
 Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text.
 ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
 
 Plantnet
  PlantNET can be searched for information on New South Wales plant names, their distribution and conservation status. Identification tools (keys), descriptions, images, illustrations and other information are provided. PlantNET also hosts other national and international botanical sites.
 Plantguide
  Information tool for horticulturalists and landscape architects; plant information by genus, habits, requirements and site suitability etc. Available only from the Level 7 Information Desk within the Library.
 Guide to Maps available at UNSW Library
  Internet links to Australian and international map databases. Includes N.S.W. Departmant of Lands databases.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
  The website of the the Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes census data.
CDATA
  Database on CD-Rom disc, containing the census data from the 1996 census, with times series and mapping facility. Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access.
Australian Government Information Guide
  Links to Commonwealth and State and Territory sourses of government information.
AustLII
  The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australian legal materials.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Standards Australia Online
  Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
Environmental Abstracts - EVA 
  Produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Selectively indexes articles from approximately 600 journals. Subject coverage includes heritage, planning and environmental issues. 1987+
archINFORM 
  This database for international architecture of the 20th century, originated from records of interesting building projects by architecture students. It includes over 12,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.