go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Materials Science & Engineering Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Materials Science Databases

 
Science Direct provides access to a comprehensive and fulltext collection of scientific journal titles published by Elsevier.
Compendex (EI Village)
  Compendex® is an important interdisciplinary engineering database referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.   Compendex is an abstract database but many recent records have access to the full text.
  Scifinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907+. Search options include: chemical name, formula, structure, registry number, subject, author, patent number and more.
Materials Business File
  Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries including Metals, Polymers,Ceramics and composites.
Polymer Library.com
  The database comprises a large collection of published literature encompassing technical, academic, commercial and marketing aspects of the rubber and plastic industries.
Ceramics Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts
  This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
  The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of leading materials databases from CSA including: Aluminium Industry Abstracts; Ceramic Abstracts; Copper Data Center; Corrosion Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Materials Business File; METADEX; and Weldasearch.
Corrosion Abstracts
  Provides bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering
Copper Data Center Database
  The CDC provides an online bibliographic database of the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology
Metadex
Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys; their properties, manufacturing, applications and development.
Weldasearch
  Weldasearch database contains abstracts to journal articles, special publications etc. in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics. Every aspect of welding and allied processes is covered
 
EMA is specifically designed to serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists. Includes citations regarding the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications for ceramics, composites and polymers.

Related Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
  Coverage of Wilson's periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering.
AusStats (Aust. Bureau of Statistics)
AusStats is a web based information service providing you with access to all ABS publications from 1998 onwards.
COS Funding Opportunities
COS (Community of Scholars) Funding Opportunities database is a comprehensive searchable listing of internationally available research grants, fellowships, prizes and awards. More than 400,000 funding opportunities worth over $33 million are listed. The interested user can limit a search to unrestricted and Australian funding opportunities.
Current Contents
A multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information of over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals.
EnergyFiles
EnergyFiles provides information, tools, and technologies to facilitate the use of scientific resources and capabilities in planning and conducting energy-related research
Engine: Australian Engineering Database
Indexes Australian conference proceedings, journals, technical publications; books, and unpublished work. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
ProQuest Science Journals
  Full text and images of leading journals in science and technology, including Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. Search other Proquest databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
Web of Science
Web of Science delivers web based access to the citation indexes including Science Citation Index. The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines