go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Materials Science & Engineering Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabasesReference Resources | Internet Links

Societies & Organisations

The American Ceramic Society
  Free access to databases available via the Internet
ESDU International
This site contains the complete set of all the ESDU engineering design guides and associated software.
PACIA: Plastics & Chemicals Industries Association
  PACIA(Plastics and Chemicals Industries Association) Information about - chemicals, petrochemicals ,resins, adhesives, sealants and plastics products Links to-Environmental concerns and the impact of chemicals and plastics on the planet and all life supporting systems. Health and Safety and the impact of chemicals and plastics on people. Very extensive links to plastics sites - worldwide as well as Australia

Other Links

Alcoa World
A corporate website with information on Aluminium and Alumina including market information and MSDS relating to aluminium production
Alfa Aesar
Alfa Aesar is a leading international manufacturer, supplier and distributor of fine chemicals, metals, and materials.  The site contains information including CAS registry Number, MSDS and description of all products available from the company.
Ames Laboratory
The Materials & Engineering Physics Program at the Ames Laboratory.  Core research areas of our program are: (1) Structure and Composition of Materials; (2) Mechanical Behavior and Radiation Effects; (3) Physical Behavior of Materials; and (4) Synthesis and Processing Science.  There are currently four main research areas: MagnetismScience of Amorphous and Aperiodic MaterialsSolidification Science and Extraordinary Responsive Rare Earth Materials.
AutoSteel SteelWorks
Website of the American Iron and Steel Institute.
Matweb the Online Materials Information Resource
MatWeb's database is comprised mostly of data sheets and spec sheets supplied by manufacturers and distributors. The database includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials
Provides access to chemical and physical property data. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.

Material Safety Data Sheets

SIRI MSDS Index
 
Useful links to Internet Materials Sefety Datasheets dierctly form the manufacturer
ChemTech
  Part of ACS. Chemical health and safety information from CHEMTEC. Includes links to MSDS sites
CCD ChemExper Chemical Directory
 
The CCD displays chemical supplier catalogs on the Internet in order to create a worldwide database. The CCD contains over
25,000 chemical structures, 4,000 MSDS and 50,000 products
TOXNET
  A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. From the National Library of Medicine
NIOSH National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety
 
Niosh manual of analytical methods, 4th ed. Includes collection of methods for sampling and analysis of contaminants in the
workplace
Where to find MSDS on the Internet
 
Collection of MSDS Internet sites. lists over 85 resources for free MSDS information. Links include: Government agencies such
as OSHA, EPA and CDC; Universities such as Caltech, MIT, UC-Berkeley; Corporations of all sizes including IBM, Ford etc; and
Individuals
MSDS Oxford University
 
Chemical safety datasheets and other chemical safety links
The Chemical Database
 
University of Akron, Department of Chemistry. Provides information for over 1400 hazardous chemicals. Includes synonym,
formula, physical data, and registry number (CA, RTECS, NFPA, DOT) information. Click on DOT number to retrieve safety guide