go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Materials Science & Engineering Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources


Dictionaries

CHEMnetBASE
Includes access to the online version of The Combined Chemical Dictionary. This includes: The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic & Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Natural Products; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs.
Dictionary of corrosion and corrosion control
PREF620.1122303/1
Rosato's plastics encyclopedia & dictionary
PREF668.403/9
Thesaurus of engineered materials
PREF620.1105/29/(1)
Thesaurus of metallurgical terms
PREF669/83B

Encyclopedias

Comprehensive composite materials
Comprehensive Composite Materials Online is a major reference work [6 volumes in the print edition] covering all aspects of composites, from theory to practical applications.
Encyclopedia of materials: science and technology
Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of materials science.  [11 volumes in print edition] Inculudes multimedia features such as 3-D, animation, and movie clips. 
Concise encyclopedia of materials characterization
PREF620.1103/4
Concise encyclopedia of magnetic and superconducting materials
PREF620.11297/7
Concise encyclopedia of polymer processing & applications
PREF668.903/1
Delaware composites design encyclopedia
PREF620.118/66 [1-6]
Encyclopedia of advanced materials
PREF620.1103/6 [1-4]
Encyclopedia of materials science and engineering
PREF620.1103/2[1-8]
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
PREF620.1103/7/[1-11]
Encyclopaedia of metallurgy & materials
PREF669.03/8
International encyclopedia of composites
PREF620.11803/3 [1-6]
An online encyclopedia of chemical technology with the latest developments in chemical technology and related fields.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
PREF503/31L(1-20)
Polymeric materials encyclopedia
PREF668.903/2 [1-12]
A state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.

Handbooks

The online version of the 3rd and latest edition of Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry covers major developments in the field of organometallic chemistry since 1993.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Authoritative reference book of chemical and physical data. Corresponds to the latest 83rd edition in content.
ENGnetBASE
ENGnetBASE provides online access to the full text of the CRC Press Engineering Handbook series.
Also available in print at PREF669/80H [1-20]
ASM metals reference book
PREF669/125A
CRC materials science & engineering handbook
P620.11/224
Engineered materials handbook
PREF620.11/185 [1-4]
Handbook of advanced electronic and photonic materials and devices PREF621.3815/318
Handbook of pollution & hazardous materials compliance
MB344.7304632/1
Handbook of ternary alloy phase diagrams
PREF669.94/104 [1-10]
Materials handbook
PREF660.3/3L
Metallic materials specification handbook
PREF669.0212/1A
Practical handbook of materials science
PREF620.11/207
Binary alloy phase diagrams
PREF669.94/87A [1-3]
Metals databook
PREF669/158
Metals and alloys in the unified numbering system
PREF669.00212/1B
Worldwide guide to equivalent irons & steels
PREF669.1/59B

Standards & Patents

Standards Australia
Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
Annual Book of ASTM Standards
PREF620.11205/24
See Level 7 Information Desk to order standards released after 2000
Standards:Guides to standards available at UNSW Library
Patents: Internet Links