go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mathematics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics
The Online Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics provides access to the entire text of the print Encyclopedia with extensive links to primary literature and important websites--plus all the powerful search capabilities of an online resource. Links to important sites: astronomy departments, institutions, public access databases, image banks, observatories, primary literature, and more. A Gateway to Astronomy on the Web.
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences
Electronic equivalent to six volume set covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences.
The Online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics is the most up-to-date and comprehensive English-language graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics today. This online edition comprises more than 8,000 entries and illuminates nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics.
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences
Comprehensive resources covering all aspects of ocean sciences. Includes the physical, chemical, biological, and geological aspects of this discipline.
Encyclopedia of operations research and management science 
The Encyclopedia provides decision makers and problem solvers in business, government and academia with a comprehensive overview of the concepts and methodologies that combine to form the fields of operations research and management science (OR/MS).
Optimization problems are ubiquitous in the mathematical modeling of real world systems and cover a very broad range of applications. These applications arise in all branches of Engineering, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Operations Research and Management Science, Chemistry, Materials Science, Astronomy, Physics, Structural and Molecular Biology, and Medicine.
Encyclopedia of physical science and technology
PREF503/78
Encyclopedic dictionary of mathematics
PREF510.3/39
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
PREF503/31H
The Prentice-Hall encyclopedia of mathematics
PREF510.3/47
The VNR concise encyclopedia of mathematics
PREF510/504

Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of mathematicians
PREF510.922/9
The biographical dictionary of scientists. mathematicians
PREF510.922/3
A concise dictionary of mathematics
PREF510.3/45
Dictionary of mathematical sciences
PREF510.3/2
International dictionary of applied mathematics
PREF510.3/5B
Mathematics dictionary
PREF510.3/1G
McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific & technical terms
PREF503/69Q  Level 7 Information Desk

Handbooks

CRC handbook of mathematical sciences
PREF510.021205/1
CRC standard mathematical tables and Formulae
PREF510.85/6AB
Handbook of mathematical formulas and integrals
PREF510.83/23