go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases  | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

 
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
  Authoritative encyclopedia of science.  Also available in print form at PREF 503/78B (1-18)
Encyclopedia of production and manufacturing  management
PREF658.5003/2
Encyclopedia of vibration
PREF620.303/1 (1-3)
 McGraw-Hill encylopedia of science and technology
PREF503/31H (1-20)
Encyclopedia of fluid mechanics
PREF620.106/34 (1-10)

Dictionaries

 
Dictionary of engineering acronyms and abbreviations
PREF620.00148/1A
Dictionary of engineering materials
PREF620.1103/9
SAE dictionary of aerospace engineering
PREF629.103/4C

Handbooks

  
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code Section II - Materials (includes 2002 and 2003 Addenda)
  Print copy held at Level 7 Information Desk -PQ 621.18405/2
Annual book of ASTM standards -2005 ed.
Encyclopedia of separation technology
PREF 660.2842/106 (1-2)
ENGnetBASE  Provides online access tot he full text of the CRC Press Engineering Handbook series
ESDU  supplies validated design data, plus software in various areas of interest to engineers. Useful for aerospace engineers, some mechanical engineers, structural engineers.
Handbook of materials for product design.  Available from Knovel
Injection molding handbook
PREF668.412/17
Janes Aircraft Upgrades
Janes All the Worlds Aircraft
Mechanical engineers' handbook
  Electronic handbook
Mechanical systems design handbook
  One of the various handbooks available  electronically from the Knovel collection
Mechanical Engineer's Reference book available from Knovel. Print copy at
PREF621.02/10C
Tribology Handbook available from Knovel

Other Useful Resources

AIAA paper (Microfiche)
 
No. 68/761-no 01/3839  PMFL/37. 
Hold 1968 - 2001. Indexed in  Aerospace and High Technology Database.  In advanced search choose search field Report Number (PR) and type "aiaa paper".  In second box choose Keywords and type your topic e.g "winglets"
BMT abstracts.  British maritime technology abstracts
 PREF 623.805/26
Fuel and energy abstracts via ScienceDirect (view subject index at end of each issue)
SAE technical paper series (Microfiche) Recent years indexed by Technical literature abstracts, held in microfiche area). PMFL/22 1965-2000
 Find SAE paper index for only 1998-