go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mining Engineering Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Applied Science & Technology
Coverage of Wilson's periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, geographic information systems, geology, engineering, mining engineering and physics.
Compendex
  The premier database for all aspects of the engineering discipline. The EI COMPENDEX database covers over 2,600 international engineering  journals, conference proceedings and technical reports.
ENGINE: Australian Engineering
  Indexes Australian conference proceedings, journals, technical publications; books, and unpublished work. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
GEOBASE
  Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental and 'green' issues. Indexes 2000 journals, books, reports, theses. Corresponds to printed Geographical Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, Geological Abstracts and Oceanographic Literature Reviews, International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences & Geomechanics Abstracts.
GeoRef
 
Contains bibliographic references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology for US material from 1785 and other areas of the world from 1933. Corresponds to the American Geological Institute's GEOSCIENCE database, and covers four printed publications: Bibliography of North American Geology; Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America; Geophysical Abstracts; Bibliography and Index of Geology.
 
Also includes AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.

Related Databases

Current Contents
  Indexes over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. Updated weekly, it is available in seven discipline-specific editions.
EnergyFiles
  EnergyFiles provides information, tools, and technologies to facilitate the use of scientific resources and capabilities in planning and conducting energy-related research.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in  full text.
Proquest Science Journals
 
ScienceDirect
  ScienceDirect offers access to over 1700 journals and three databases including Compendex and Geobase.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Web of Science delivers web based access to the citation indexes including Science Citation Index. The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines.