go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mining Engineering Subject Guide

 
Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Printed indexes

IMM Abstracts
  PREF622.05/75
Mineralogical Abstracts
  PREF549.05/7

Dictionaries

Dictionary of mining, mineral and related terms
  PREF622.03/12
Dictionary of earth sciences
Dictionary of petroleum exploration, drilling and production
  PREF622.0338203/1
McGraw-Hill dictionary of geology and minerology
  PREF550.3/30
Oil and gas dictionary
  PREF338.272803/1

Encyclopedias

The Australian encyclopedia
Earth sciences encyclopedia online
Encyclopedia of geology
  PREF919.4/204S/(1- 8)
Encyclopedia of chemical technology
  PREF660.3/54E
Encyclopedia of minerals
  PREF549/56B
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
  PREF503/33
Encyclopedia of physical science and technology
  PREF503/78
Encyclopedia of physics
  PREF530.03/6C
Encyclopedia of physics [Handbuch der Physik]
  PREF530.3/1C
Encyclopaedic dictionary of physics
  PREF530.3/77

Directories

Jobson's mining yearbook: public companies of Australia and New Zealand
  SREF338.205/15 Level 3 until until 2000, from 2000 available electronically via Jobson's Online
International Guide to the coalfields
  PREF622.3305/3
Coal industry profile
  PREF622.3305/30
Financial times mining international yearbook directory
  PREF622.06505/1
Minerals industry survey
  PREF338.20994005/5
New Generation gold exploration
  PREF338.20994005/5
Register of Australian Mining
  PREF622.05/137

Statistics

Asia/Pacific mining yearbook
 
PREF338.762205/3
Australian Mineral Statistics
  PREF338.20994005/4A
Coal industry profile
  PREF622.3305/30
Energy statistics sourcebook
 
PREF338.272805/14
Minerals industry survey
  PREF338.20994005/5
New Generation gold exploration
  PREF622.3422/15

Other print resources

Hey's mineral index: mineral species, varieties and synonyms
  PREF549.012/3
Cost estimation handbook for the Australian mining industry
  PREF338.230994/8A
SME mining engineering handbook
  PQ622/28G, H, J, K/(1 & 2) Level 6

Standards

Australian Standards in print.
  Ask at Level 2 Services Desk
(Note: This collection is not being updated - current to Sept 2001. Use  AS Online  to access the most recent version of Australian Standards.)

Maps

The Map Collection is located on Level 7 of the Physical Sciences Library.
 
Individual sheet maps
  Can be found using the Library Resources Database (LRD).
Series sheet maps
  These items are not on the catalogue, ask at the Level 2 Services Desk
Atlases, street and road directories
 
The library has an up-to-date collection of general world atlases, such as The Times Atlas of the World (PATREF912/31 Z) and atlases dealing with specific countries or parts of countires, such as the Atlas of New South Wales (PATREF912.944/9).
 
Atlases can be major sources of thematic maps, since they often concentrate on such themes as agriculture, oceanography, geology or regional history.
 
There are also current street and road directories for the majority of Australia.