go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Optometry & Vision Science Subject Guide


Databases

Applied Science & Technology
 
Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
Australasian Medical Index AMI
 
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australian health and medical serials, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE, on all aspects of health and medicine.
 
CINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines.
Current Contents
Indexes over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. Updated weekly, it is available in seven discipline-specific editions.
EMBASE
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in medicine and related disciplines.
Access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Includes Inspec backfile. 1896-
Journals@ovid
The Journals@ovid database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Journal of Ophthalmic Photography
Searchable web access to The Journal of Ophthalmic Photography from 1978 to present, full text available from 1997. The Journal of Ophthalmic Photography is an official publication of the Ophthalmic Photographers' Society. Published twice a year, the Journal offers a forum for ophthalmic photographers to share their work and ideas with their colleagues.
Medline
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Science Direct
Fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier Science.
Scifinder Scholar
Online access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907+. Chemical Abstracts covers all areas of chemistry and related disciplines.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library, one of the most extensive resources available on optics and photonics, contains more than 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990. Plans are underway to expand the DL back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers covering a wide scope of optical technologies and applications. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year.
 Web of Science
 
Web of Science delivers web based access to the citation indexes including Science Citation Index. The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines.