go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Patents Guide

Patent Databases  | Journal Databases which Index PatentsHow to Purchase a Patent | Organisations

Patent Databases

Ei Patents
Ei Patents is a comprehensive database of United States and European Union patent records allowing researchers and engineers to take advantage of the scientific and technical information found within patents during their research process. Ei Patents on Engineering Village is designed to enhance researchers' ability to conduct searches that encompass all of the scientific literature in a given subject area.
MicroPatent Materials Patents
MicroPatent is the world's leading source for online patent and trademark information. Combining advanced technology with the most comprehensive, up-to-date IP information, MicroPatent delivers a complete intellectual property solution, whether it's online searching, document delivery, patent analysis, file histories, or professional search assistance.
USPTO : United States Patents and Trademark Office [Full Text]
  Provides full text access to United States patents from 1790 onwards. Published patent applications are available from 2001. The free plug-in, AlternaTIFF, must be downloaded to get access to the full text patent images.
esp@cenet : Europe's Network of Patent Databases [Full Text]
  Provides access to full text patents from Great Britain, Europe, and the World Intellectual Property Organisation. Access to the patent title and abstract from worldwide sources is also available. 
DEPATISnet [Full Text]
  Patent service provided by the German Patent and Trade Mark Office. Gives full text access to all German patents.
IP Australia Patent Database [Some Full Text]
Access to Australian patent information. Check Frequently Asked Questions for further information about accessing and searching these databases.
PAJ Database : Japan Patent Office [Abstract Only]
Provides english abstracts plus drawings of Japanese patents and patent applications.
Canadian Patents Database [Abstract Only]
Provides access to Canadian patents and patent applications. Records include bibliographic data, textual data (titles, abstracts and claims) and image data.
Intellectual Property Digital Library [Some Full Text]
Access to intellectual property data collections hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.
DOE Patent Database [Full Text]
Full text access to patents and patent applications owned by the US Department of Energy or its contractors or assignees.