go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Physics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Preprints | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Physics Databases

Inspec (Ei Village 2)
  Access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Includes Inspec backfile. 1896-
ANSTI
  Compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO). Covers all areas of nuclear science research and development. Coverage 1970+. Note: ANSTI is a subset of INIS.
Einstein Archives
The Einstein Archives Online Website provides the first online access to Albert Einstein's scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database.
INIS (International Nuclear Information System)
INIS, the International Nuclear Information System, is the world's leading information system on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Coverage 1970+
SPIE Digital Library
  The SPIE Digital Library, one of the most extensive resources available on optics and photonics, contains more than 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990. Plans are underway to expand the DL back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers covering a wide scope of optical technologies and applications. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year.

Related Databases

Current Contents
  Indexes over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. Updated weekly, it is available in seven discipline-specific editions.
EnergyFiles 
EnergyFiles includes over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. Sponsored, developed, and maintained by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
Indexes the journals covered in HW Wilson's General Science Abstracts. 171 journal are indexed with 70 of these titles in full text.
 
The GrayLIT Network makes the gray literature of U.S. Federal Agencies easily accessible over the Internet. It taps into the search engines of distributed gray literature collections, enabling the user to find information without first having to know which Agency has it. The GrayLIT Network is the world's most comprehensive portal to Federal gray literature.
Federal Agencies participating in this project are DoD, DOE, EPA, and NASA. Participation will be expanding as the site develops.
 
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions and conferences, IEEE standards, IEE conferences and the journal IEE Letters.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Produced by the American Meteorological Society, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs.
 
The NTIS Database, produced by the National Technical Information Service, is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
Proquest Science Journals
 
Fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier Science.
Scifinder Scholar
Scifinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907+. Search options include: chemical name, formula, structure, registry number, subject, author, patent number and more.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
  Provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high and low temperature superconductivity technology.
Web of Science
  Access to the citation indexes, including Science Citation Index. Coverage 1994+