go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Physics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Preprints | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources


Dictionaries

The biographical dictionary of scientists
PREF530.0922/1
A dictionary of applied physics
PREF530.3/71
A dictionary of physics
PREF530.03/18
Dictionary of scientific biography
PREF509.203/2
An Einstein dictionary
PREF530.092/107
The facts on file dictionary of physics
PREF530.0321/1A
Macmillan dictionary of physics
PREF530.03/10
The Usborne illustrated dictionary of physics
PREF530/594

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Energy
Provides access to all aspects of energy and energy related fields including the natural, social and engineering sciences.
The Online Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics provides access to the entire text of the print Encyclopedia with extensive links to primary literature and important websites--plus all the powerful search capabilities of an online resource. Links to important sites: astronomy departments, institutions, public access databases, image banks, observatories, primary literature, and more. A Gateway to Astronomy on the Web.
Concise encyclopedia of solid state physics
PREF530.4103/1
Encyclopedia of applied physics
PREF530.03/15
Encyclopedia of cosmology
PREF523.103/1
Encyclopedia of modern physics
PREF530.03/13
Encyclopedia of physics
PREF530.03/6C
Encyclopaedic dictionary of physics : general, nuclear, solid state, molecular chemical, metal and vacuum physics
PREF530.3/77
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
PREF503/31H
The astronomy and astrophysics encyclopedia
PREF520.3/13

Handbooks

Authoritative reference book of chemical and physical data. Corresponds to the latest 83rd edition in content. Also available in print : PREF540.205/1
This classic and well-known reference was originally published for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page. (1st Electronic Edition)
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers. (9th Revised Edition)
Formulas, facts, and constants for students and professionals in engineering, chemistry, and physics
PREF530.0212/2A
Handbook of physical quantities
PREF530.0212/3
Handbuch der physik
PREF530.3/1C