go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Surveying & Spatial Information Systems Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 AESIS
 
Australia's national geoscience, minerals and petroleum database. Produced by the Australian Mineral Foundation. Contains more than 110,000 records to Australian literature in the earth sciences and indexes journals, reports, conference papers, maps and theses. Coverage from 1975 -2001.
 
For current information on Australia use GeoRef. GeoRef contains AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.
 Compendex
The premier database for all aspects of the engineering discipline. The EI COMPENDEX database covers over 2,600 international engineering journals, conference proceedings and technical reports.
 ENGINE: Australian Engineering
  Indexes Australian conference proceedings, journals, technical publications; books, and unpublished work. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
GEOBASE via ScienceDirect
  Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental and 'green' issues. Indexes 2000 journals, books, reports, theses. Corresponds to printed Geographical Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, Geological Abstracts and Oceanographic Literature Reviews, International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences & Geomechanics Abstracts.
GeoRef
 
Contains bibliographic references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology for US material from 1785 and other areas of the world from 1933. Corresponds to the American Geological Institute's GEOSCIENCE database, and covers four printed publications: Bibliography of North American Geology; Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America; Geophysical Abstracts; Bibliography and Index of Geology.
 
Also includes AusGeoRef, over 65,000 references on Australia drawn from the journal literature, meeting proceedings and abstracts, books, reports and maps.
 INSPEC
  Access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.
 IEEE Xplore
  IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions and conferences, IEEE standards, IEE conferences and the journal "IEE Letters." The database includes articles and full-text PDF images, including all charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material.

Related Guides