go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Surveying & Spatial Information Systems Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Dictionaries

International GIS dictionary
  PREF551.03/9
Dictionary of earth sciences
Glossary of the mapping sciences
  PREF526.03/3

Encyclopedias

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
  PREF503/31H
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia
  PREF503/18E
Encylopedia of physical science and technology
  PREF503/18E
Modern geography: an encyclopedic survey
  PREF910.285/74

Handbooks

The surveying handbook
  PREF526.9/132A
Practical handbook of digital mapping: terms and concepts
  MAPREF526.0285/18

Other print resources

The AGI source book for geographic information systems
  PREF910.6041005/1
Surveyor's factbook
  P346.42043/3

Standards

Australian Standards in print.
  Level 7 information desk
(Note: This collection is not being updated - current to Sept 2001. Use  AS Online  to access the most recent version of Australian Standards.)

Maps

The Map Collection is located on Level 7 of the Physical Sciences Library.
 
Individual sheet maps
  Can be found using the Library Resources Database (LRD).
Series sheet maps
  These items are not on the catalogue, ask at the Level 7 Information Desk or e-mail your query to the Physical Sciences Library.
Atlases, street and road directories
 
The library has an up-to-date collection of general world atlases, such as The Times Atlas of the World (PATREF912/31 Z) and atlases dealing with specific countries or parts of countires, such as the Atlas of New South Wales (PATREF912.944/9).
 
Atlases can be major sources of thematic maps, since they often concentrate on such themes as agriculture, oceanography, geology or regional history.