go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Planning Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Science Direct
  Fulltext collection based on 1800 journal titles published by Elsevier. Fulltext coverage varies from journal to journal. The bibliographic databases Medline and GEOBASE may be searched at the same time as the fulltext journals.
 Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
 Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, this database indexes the major serial publications on architecture and the built environment published in Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s . Updated weekly.
 Architectural Publications Index - 1986+
   Accessed through the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library web site. Indexes over 300 journals, as well as books and audio visual material. Updated daily.
APAIS Fulltext: APAFT
 
A multidisciplinary service produced by the National Library of Australia which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers. APAIS comprehensively indexes approximately 250 journals. Overseas sources are also scanned for material on Australian subject matter. Coverage is 1978+
 Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) 
  Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building; produced by the Stanton Library. 1980+
Current Contents
   Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness database providing access to information published in over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.

Related Databases

 Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Australia's natural and cultural environment; produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. Coverage is 1987+
 Guide to Maps available from UNSW Library
  Internet links to Australian and international map databases. Includes Land and Property information N.S.W.
Environmental Abstracts - EVA 
  Produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Selectively indexes articles from approximately 600 journals. Subject coverage includes heritage, planning and environmental issues. 1987+
Compendex via Engineering Village 2
 
Compendex is a comprehensive general engineering database which includes structural and foundation engineering.
1884+. Updated weekly.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
  The website of the the Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes census data.
CDATA
  Database on CD-Rom disc, containing the census data from the 1996 census, with times series and mapping facility. Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access.
Australian Government Information Guide
  Links to Commonwealth and State and Territory sourses of government information.
 ABI/INFORM Global
 
 Plantguide
  Information tool for horticulturalists and landscape architects; plant information by genus, habits, requirements and site suitability etc. Available only from the Level 7 Information Desk within the Library.
AustLII
  The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australian legal materials.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Standards Australia Online
  Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
Sociological Abstracts 
  CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
FAMILY 
  Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. It indexes Australian writing and research on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. 1981+
Factiva
  Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
BDP Environment Design Guide 
  The BDP Environment Design Guide aims to provide building design professionals with accurate, accessible, professional literature on how to reduce the environmental impact of the built environment. A product of the Australian Council of Building Design Professions (BDP) it is produced as a service to the members of its constituent organisations and to the wider community.
BDP aims to encourage debate on sustainability issues, through providing accessible information on advances in environmental technology, updates to changes in legislative requirements and discussion on the expanding opportunities offered by environmental design.
archINFORM 
  This database for international architecture of the 20th century, originated from records of interesting building projects by architecture students. It includes over 12,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.