go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Water Engineering Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Compendex  via EI Village2
The premier database for all spects of engineering, covering 2,600 international engineering journals, conference proceedings and technical reports 1970+
Engine Australian Engineering
Indexes Australian conferences proceedings, journals, technical publications; books and unpublished work in engineering.  Produced by the Institution of Engineers,  Australia 1980+
Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to marine and brackish-water environment 1992+
Streamline
Indexes journals, published and unpublished reports, research in progress,books, monograph chapters and conference proceedings.  Information must be written by an Australian of be about Australia.  Contains more than 26,500 citations to Australian literature on all aspects of water and waste water utilization  1982+
WISE: Water Information System for the Environment
The Water Information System for the Environment (WISE) is an authoritative Australian bibliographic database which aims to provide a comprehensive resource for 'Communities, natural resource managers and policy-makers' who 'need the best information to manage our rivers and wetlands.' It identifies water information according to different parts of a specific catchment: wetlands, creeks and rivers, catchments and basins.

Related Databases

Agriculture and Natural Resources Index 
(formerly Australian Bibliography of Agriculture: ABOA)
 
 A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished journal articles, books or monographs, reports, fact sheets and conference papers. Dealing with all aspects of agriculture production including marine and inland water fisheries and aquaculture;agricultural engineering; sustainable agriculture 2000+
   A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished journal articles, books or monographs, reports, fact sheets and conference papers. Dealing with all aspects of agriculture production including marine and inland water fisheries and aquaculture;agricultural engineering; sustainable agriculture.  1975-2000
Agriculture and Natural Resources Research (ANRR)
(formerly Agricultural Rural Research in Progress:ARRIP)
  A research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources.
(formerly Completed Agricultural Rural Research in Progress: CARRP)
  A research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources.
AESIS: Australia's National Geoscience, Minerals and Petroleum
  Australia's national geoscience, minerals and petroleum database. Produced by the Australian Mineral Foundation. Contains more than 110,000 records to Australian literature in the earth sciences and indexes journals, reports, conference papers, maps and theses. 1975-2001
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
  Indexes key international english language periodicals, mainly US publications 1983+
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: ASFA
  ASFA is the premier database in aquatic sciences, providing access to global developments in the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms.
Australian Standards
  Full text of current Australian Standards
CAB Abstracts
 
 A bibliographic databases covering significant international research and development literature in fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. 1984+
Current Contents
  A multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.  Latest 4 years.
Environmental Abstracts (EVA)
   EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas.  Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control.  1987+
GrayLIT
  Makes grey literature of the U.S. Federal Agencies such as NASA easily accessible over the Internet.
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database  (REEF)
  Produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, this bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef.  Subjects include coastal zone management, natural resources management, oceanography. 1982+
NTIS : National Technical Information Service
 
NTIS is the central source for U.S.Government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports. Information comes from approximately 600 U.S.government agencies, and foreign governments, with whom they have a bilateral agreement to exchange information, most notably the U.K., Japan, and Germany. Material indexed includes conference proceedings, contract and technical reports, theses, database files, manuals etc.  1966+
Proquest Science Journals
 
ScienceDirect
  Fulltext scientific and medical collection based on journals published by Elsevier Science
Scifinder Scholar
  Covers the world's chemical literature electronic version of Chemical Abstracts printed indexes.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
TOXNET
  Sponsored by U.S. National Library of Medicine and covers toxicology and environmental health information.
Web of Science
  Analyses citation literature.