go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo Library Home Home Page

Contact Us | Help
  
UNSW
Library Home
Education & Training
 
Skills Classes
Research Consultations
Online Training
  How to use ... Guides.
   Library Resources Database
   MyCourse
   Sirius
   Databases
  Database Helpsheets
  Legal Research Guide
  Legal Research Materials
  EndNote
Course Programs
Information Literacy
How to use ... Guides > Databases > About the databases

How to ... Using the Databases

 1 | About the databases
In the Library world when you see or hear the term 'database' or 'Library database' it usually means bibliographic database. Bibliographic databases allow you to search for journal articles and papers relating to a particular topic which have been published in a range of journals, reports, conference proceedings and other documents.
Example
If you are looking for the latest journal articles which have been published on 'the use of smart cards' you could search one of the Library databases to get a list of recent papers published in this area.
The information that the database will provide includes:
The title and author of the article
A link to an abstract which provides more information about the article
Information about the journal which published the article. This is called the source or citation and includes the journal title, date, volume, issue and pages
Full text links to the actual article if it is available online
 
There are bibliographic databases for most major subject areas. If you are a chemistry student you will use a different set of databases than if you are a law student. Before you start using the databases you will need to identify which databases cover your subject area.