go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo Library Home Home Page

Contact Us | Help
  
UNSW
Library Home
Education & Training
 
Skills Classes
Research Consultations
Online Training
  How to use ... Guides.
   Library Resources Database
   MyCourse
   Sirius
   Databases
  Database Helpsheets
  Legal Research Guide
  Legal Research Materials
  EndNote
Course Programs
Information Literacy
How to use ... Guides > Databases > Finding the article when no direct link is available

How to ... Using the Databases

 7 | Finding the article when no direct link is available
If there are no direct links to the article from your database search results you will need to go to the Catalogue to determine if the journal which published the article is available via UNSW Library.
Use the following steps to locate the article from your database search when there are no direct links available:
Step 1
From your database search results write down the source or citation of the article you are interested in. If there are a number of articles of interest you can print, save or export this information.
Example: Copy the source information for the article
American Journal of Physics Aug 1999, vol 67, issue 8, p.658
 
Step 2
Search the Catalogue to see if the journal is available via UNSW Library.
Example: Check the Catalogue to see if the journal is available at UNSW Library
Go to the Catalogue at: http://lrd.library.unsw.edu.au
Type American Journal of Physics in the search box
Change the Field to search drop down menu to Title beginning with
Click As a phrase? Yes
Select Limit by Journals Only
Click Find
 
Step 3
From the Catalogue results screen click the Print Holdings link to get the call number and holdings information for the journal.
Example: Check the holdings and copy down the call number
This journal is held in print from 1949 onwards at call number PJ530/A210. It is also available electronically, click on the Online Access link to access the e-version.
 
Step 4
If UNSW Library does not hold the journal you are looking for:
1: Check other University library catalogues to see if it is available elsewhere. You can link to other library catalogues from Sirius.
2: Request the article via the UNSW Library Interlibrary Loans Service. This service is only available to UNSW staff and postgraduate students.