go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo Library Home Home Page

Contact Us | Help
  
UNSW
Library Home
Education & Training
 
Skills Classes
Research Consultations
Online Training
  How to use ... Guides.
   Library Resources Database
   MyCourse
   Sirius
   Databases
  Database Helpsheets
  Legal Research Guide
  Legal Research Materials
  EndNote
Course Programs
Information Literacy
How to use ... Guides > Databases > Searching the databases

How to ... Using the Databases

 4 | Searching the databases
Once you have selected a database which covers your subject area you can start to think about doing a search on your particular assignment topic or research area.
Most databases basically work in the same way. There are a number of basic database searching techniques which you will need to be familiar with. The following outlines the basic steps you need to follow when doing a database search.
Step 1: Analyse your topic
First analyse your topic and pick out the main concepts.
Example: The effect of greenhouse gases on climate change
The main concepts here are greenhouse gases and climate change
Step 2: Think about the keywords you could use in your search
List some of the keywords that best describe your topic. Think of different words or phrases which may cover the same concepts.
Example: The effect of greenhouse gases on climate change
Some keywords which best describe the concepts here are: greenhouse gases, greenhouse effect, climate change, global warming etc.
 
Step 3: Combine keywords using the AND & OR operators
Databases use the words AND and OR (known as Boolean operators) to combine sets of keywords. Use the AND operator to retrieve records which include both of your search terms.
Example: The AND operator
greenhouse gases AND climate change
will retrieve records which contain both these terms

However, you may also want to retrieve articles which use the term global warming, a term which relates closely to the concept of climate change. This is when you use the OR operator. The or operator is usually used to search for similar terms or concepts.
Example: The OR operator
greenhouse gases AND (climate change OR global warming)
will retrieve records which contain the term greenhouse gases and either or both of the terms global warming or climate change.

 
Step 4: Using truncation symbols / wildcards
Truncation symbols, also known as wildcards, are used to search for a variety of word endings.
Example: Truncation / Wildcards
environment? = environment, environments, environmental
Truncating your keywords will broaden your search. Different databases use different truncation symbols such as: *, ?, $, #. You can find out which truncation symbol to use by clicking on the link from Sirius or the Subject Guides. Also, online help is usually available via the actual database.
Step 5: Finding more records relevant to your topic
Most databases use subject terms, also called descriptors, identifiers or subject headings, that are specific words or terms that describe the subject area covered in an article. These can be very useful if you wish to find more records similar to articles you have already found.
You can carry out more effective searching by taking note of relevant subject terms. Use the following steps to identify relevant subject terms and retrieve other records of interest.
1: Find a record which covers the topic area you are interested in
2: Note the subject terms in that record
3: Use these subject terms in a new search to find similar records
Example: Using Subject Headings
Do a new search using the term greenhouse emissions or Kyoto Protocol to find more records covering the same subject area as the one in the record below.