go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo Library Home Home Page

Contact Us | Help
  
UNSW
Library Home
Education & Training
 
Skills Classes
Research Consultations
Online Training
  How to use ... Guides.
   Library Resources Database
   MyCourse
   Sirius
   Databases
  Database Helpsheets
  Legal Research Guide
  Legal Research Materials
  EndNote
Course Programs
Information Literacy
How to use ... Guides > Databases > Selecting databases in your subject area

How to ... Using the Databases

3 | Selecting databases in your subject area
There are bibliographic databases for most major subject areas. If you are a chemistry student you will use a different set of databases than if you are a law student. Before you start using the databases you will need to identify which databases cover your subject area. You can identify a list of databases in your subject area by using either Sirius or the Subject Guides. 
Using Sirius to select a list of databases  
From the Find Resource space in Sirius click on the Category option. Use the drop down menu to select your subject area. Click Go. A list of databases, and other resources, will appear on a new screen..
 
 
From the list of resources:
Click on the name of the resource to get access.
Click the icon to get more information about the resource.
Click the icon to add to the My Resources clipboard.
The icon indicates the resource can be searched using MetaSearch.
more about using Sirius
 
 
Using the Subject Guides to Select a list of databases  
Another way of retrieving a list of databases in your subject area is to use the Library Subject Guides. Subject Guides are avialable from the UNSW Library's home page. Once you have found the Subject Guide for your subject area click on the Databases link to get a list of databases which are most relevant to that area.