go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference ResourcesInternet Links

Databases

For a brief online tutorial click this link How to...Using Databases 
APAIS - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset full text
  Material in APAIS pertaining only to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander communities.
AusAnthrop
  AusAnthrop is an on-line database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages, and dialectal groups.
Attorney-General's Information Service Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset
  AGIS is an Australian database that indexes and abstracts articles from published material on all aspects of law, including issues such as human rights and land rights.
Australian Education Index - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset  
  Broad coverage of Australian education resources, covering all aspects of education.
Indigenous Studies Bibliography  
  Product of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. Coverage of all aspects of indigenous life in Australia.
Infokoori
  A comprehensive index to articles published in the Koori Mail newspaper and to information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, issues and events from various sources.

Multidisciplinary Databases (many with full text)

APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
  Main index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. 1978+
Expanded Academic full text
  Covers a wide range of academic journals. 1980+
Times Digital Archive
  The complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. 1885-1985. Useful for contemporary reporting of indigenous matters.
Wilson Omnifile full text
  International coverage of the social sciences & humanities, including history. 1984+

Subject specific databases

Anthropology Plus 
  Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works. Strong content for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
AUSSTATS
  Ausstats is a web based information service providing the ABS full standard product range on-line. Includes statistics on the indigenous population.
AUSTLIT
  Major resource for Australian literature. Includes indigenous writers. 1970+
FAMILY : Australian Family and Society Abstracts 
  Compiled by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Includes coverage of Aboriginal family and social issues. 1980+
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to present day, including Australian history.
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies
  An Australian database focusing on multiculturalism, ethnicity and race relations within Australia. 1940+
Poole's index to periodical literature
  Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century. Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6)
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Sociological Abstracts
  Major international resource for sociology. 1974+
Women's studies international
  Broad ranging coverage of women's issues. 1972+

Libraries Australia & Web of Science

Libraries Australia 
Formerly called Kinetica. Useful database for finding the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Includes holdings for 850 Australian libraries. 
 Web of Science
 Provides citation indexing, which is searching to find out who has cited a particular book or journal article.

Theses databases

 Sirius Theses page
  This is a link to the Sirius Thesis page which lists all the main resources for theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be independently navigated by clicking Sirius, clicking Find Resources, click Locate  and using the Type dropdown menu, select Theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
Index to theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Australian Digital Theses Program full text
  Australian theses. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only. Theses available to download in PDF format.