| |

|
 |
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Subject Guide
This subject guide is a list of the major sources in the area of Australian statistics available to students and staff of UNSW.
Australian Bureau of Statistics census data
Every 5 years the Australian Bureau of Statistics carries out a national census of the Australian population and of housing. The last 3 took place in 1991, 1996 and 2001. Using census data requires combining the data from a Community profile with a Geographic area.
Community Profiles
|
Census data is distributed amongst the 6 major Community Profiles (see below under CLIB). The Basic Community Profile holds the most popularly used data, 32 tables of key data about persons, families and dwellings.
|
| |
Access Basic Community Profile (and the other 5 profiles) via ABS. Click Census on the left hand menu. Under 2001 Census - Products and Services, click 2001 Census Products. Find references to all 6 Community Profiles. To access the Basic Community Profile, click Main Areas (location)- by name, then click Australia, on the Download link click Open this file from its current location. On the Winzip screen double click the BCP_O.xls file to open it. At the bottom, far left of the screen, click the 2nd side-pointing arrow and scroll until you find Index. Select this page for the Basic Community Profile; or ask at the Level 3 Information Desk for the print BCP.
|
Geographic Areas
| Community Profiles |
| |
Community profile data can be applied to a variety of geographic areas from the largest area, Total Australia, down to the smallest geographic area, the Collection District, which covers approximately 225 households.
A researcher needs to know which Community Profile includes the specific data they require and which Geographic Area they wish to apply it to. On this basis, select a census format from the list below.
|
Census data is available in various formats
| ABS |
| |
UNSW students have free access to AusStats census data. Ignore any direction that says "charges apply". AusStats also contains data from Census 1996. (Do not go directly to the ABS web site, as this will limit the resources available to you)
The most important data from the Census 2001 is listed below:
- Full Basic Community Profile (BCP) from Total Australia down to Collection District (CD) level in Microsoft Excel format.
N.B. identitification of CDs from AusStats maps may be difficult. See the CDATA or Census Maps entry below.
- Time Series Profile: 22 tables from the BCP from census 1991, 1996 and 2001 for ASGC geographies, SLA, SSD, SD, LGA, Statistical Districts and Territories and Australia (based on 2001 census boundaries)
- Australian Standard Geographic Classification
- State summaries, Urban Centres and Australia wide, etc.
- Indigenious Profile.
|
| Census Basics |
| |
Census Basics is the simplest and quickest way to obtain general census data.
Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access.
|
Geographic areas All areas from Australia to Collection Districts, including Urban Centre/locality, Suburb and Remote area
|
Basic Community Profile 32 tables of census data |
Data presented in Excel format, print or download options
|
| CDATA2001 Maps |
| |
This resource is the simplest way to identify Collection District numbers from SLA maps (Statistical Local Areas) for all states and territories. No census data is available - maps only. Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access.
- SLA maps shown with togographical details including local street names
- Search by Name, Heirarchy, Code, Map
- Download or print using PDF format
|
| CDATA2001 & CDATA96 |
| |
CDATA is a complex computer program that allows the researcher to view, download or print census data in Excel format. The Mapinfo function generates customised maps and allows data and maps to be placed in reports and graphs.
Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access. Online help is available, but it may be preferable to ask a librarian for some brief tuition.
Unlike CLIB which gives access to all 6 community profiles, CDATA contains data from only 2 major Profiles:
Basic Community Profile 32 tables of census data for all census boundaries across Australia including Collection District level |
Times Series Profile 21 Basic Community Profile tables, from the current census and the 2 previous census. CDATA2001 includes 1996 and 1991 (where the classifications are comparable) and down to SLA level. |
Some of the many features of CDATA include:
- custom boundaries
- mapping and creation of thematic maps
- tablulation of data
|
| CLIB2001 |
| |
CLIB2001 has the most comprehensive set of Geographic Areas, Community Profiles and Classification counts, see the graph below.
Ask at the Social Sciences & Humanities Information Desk, Level 3, for access.
Table below shows CLIB profiles and the geographic areas the data can be applied to:
|
Basic Community Profile
33 tables
|
- all standard census areas from Total Australia to Collection District (CD) level |
|
Times Series Profile -
22 tables
|
- based on 2001 SLA boundaries |
|
Expanded Community Profile
49 tables
|
- from Australia to SLA boundaries |
|
Working Population Community Profile
19 tables
|
- Journey to Work Study Area, SLA & LGA |
|
Usual Residents Community Profile
28 tables
|
- based on 2001 SLA boundaries and Postal Areas
|
|
Indigenous Profile
22 tables
|
- ATSIC Areas, Indigenous Areas and Indigenous Location |
Data can be viewed or printed. No downloading.
For help in finding unknown Collection District numbers, use the maps in either Census 2001 Maps or CDATA2001
|
| CLIB96, CLIB91, CLIB86 |
| |
The CLIB databases are the most comprehensive source for data from the censuses carried out in the years 1996, 1991, 1986. CLIB is a comparison of data from different censuses and allows time series searches.
CLIB comes with a companion publication Statistical Local Area Maps detailing a selection of Sydney Statistical Local Areas (SLA) with their Collection District (CD) numbers, see below for more details.
CLIB includes all 6 Community Profiles as listed below, and all geographic areas from Total Australia to Collection Districts (CD) level.
| Basic Community Profile |
Working Population Community Profile |
| Times Series Profile |
Indigenous Community Profile |
| Expanded Community Profile |
Usual Residents Community Profile |
Collection District numbers can change. Find them by using the maps in the microfiche census collection mentioned below. For Census96 use CData96, see above.
|
| Census data on Microfiche, & the Historical Microfiche Series |
| |
The UNSW Library's census collection on microfiche is held in cabinets on Level 3 of the Library.
SMFL1007 The censuses for 1966, 1971, 1976, 1981, 1986 and 1991 on microfiche. The content of these fiche are accessed via plastic folders containing the indexes found on the top on the fiche cabinets.
Colonial Microfiche 1804 - 1901 Contains state censuses from the early 19th century to 1900. Access the contents of these fiche directly or use the Colonial Statistics Catalogue (1115.0) found on top of the cabinets.
Historical Microfiche Series 1901 - 1993 Includes censuses from 1911 to 1986. Access this collection via the Index to the histoical Microfiche Series 1901 - 1993 (1123.0)
ABS provides an index of census publications from 1911 to 1993 via the Historical Publications Index.
|
| Printed census data |
| |
How to locate printed Census data The ABS Catalogue of Publications and Products, [1101.0] is the guide to locating Census data in print format. Material is listed in the Sections of the Catalogue of Publications and Products for National Products and in each State and Territory Products section. It is recommended that you consult the ABS Catalogue either in the Library or at ABS to identify background papers and statistical data.
|
| Some 1996 print Census data |
| |
Selected Social and Housing Characteristics for Statistical Local Areas, New South Wales and Jervis Bay. Includes tables showing SLAs ranked by selected characteristics (for example, total persons, and median personal income). [2015.1]
Sydney ... A Social Atlas. One of the series which includes each Capital city of Australia. Contains colour maps showing demographic and socio-economic characteristics, and including brief commentary. [2030.1]
Population Growth and Distribution, Australia. Shows demographic changes between 1991 and 1996 Census, and features intrastate and interstate movements; final estimates at the Statistical Local Area level for all of Australia included. [2035.0]
|
|
|