| |

|
 |
Accounting Subject Guide
Databases
|
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|
|
|
| |
Small management database with significant amounts on accountancy. |
| Accounting & Tax Database full text Proquest |
| Accounting & Tax Newspapers full text Proquest |
| ABI/INFORM Global full text Proquest |
| |
Multidisciplinary and one of the main resources for business studies. Note check box to limited search to, Scholarly (Peer reviewed) Journals only. |
| Business Source Premier full text |
| |
Multidisciplinary. 4000 journals, 3600 full text scholarly publications, 1000 peer reviewed journals. The Harvard Business Review back to 1922!: country economic reports & detailed company reports. Note limited to Scholarly (Peer reviewed) Journals search option. |
| Expanded Academic full text |
| |
Multidisciplinary database. Results can be limited to refereed publications. Also has a very effective Subject Search i.e. "accounting" gives 8000 articles. Click the article title to access useful subjects at the end of each record e.g. click View to see more articles or click See also to see related subjects. This can help provide substantial results. |
| Wilson Omnifile full text |
| |
Multidisciplinary database and includes Business Periodicals Index. Indexes 2,730 journals back to 1982. Full text of 1,300 journals available from 1994 onwards. Searches can be limited to Peer Reviewed Journals. |
| Factiva full text |
| |
Newspapers plus other resources: Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Internet Explorer. To access Australian materials, click Source, choose from the dropdown menu My Source Lists, and click Group : Australia Publications - this searches all Australian publications in Factiva. |
| NewsBank full text |
| |
Newspapers. International newspapers including many Australian newspapers |
| ISI Web of Science Social Sciences from 1900+ |
| |
Multidisciplinary & scholarly content only. Indexes the top ranking journals across all subjects. Consists of 3 component databases: choose to search only Social Sciences Citation Index (tick the box). Note on the right of the search form, the facility to arrange results list in Times Cited order. ISI also has a useful Cited Reference search |
| Oxford Scholarship full text (Electronic Books) |
| |
OxSc does not have a huge amount on accounting/auditing et al but it does include Management Accounting in the Digital Economy, Bhimani, Alnoor (Editor) 2003. Do a subject search and vary your terms.
|
| Annual Reviews full text 1970+ |
| |
Mainly for post graduate and academic researchers but no reason why under graduates cannot explore. Annual Reviews is a multidisciplinary database that publishes review articles on current issues. Articlesinclude an over view of the subject and reviews the main contributors in the field. Choosing Social Sciences category, search results 'corporations and lobbying' will retrieve "Business" is not an interest group: On the Study of Companies in American National Politics, by David M. Hart, and The savings and loan debacle, financial crime, and the state, by K. Calavita, R. Tillman, H. N. Pontell.
|
| |
see Reference Resources for information on print indexes relevant to accounting. |
Databases with Australian content
|
|
| |
Ebook for Australian accounting standards |
| APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text index 1978+, full text from 1995+ |
| |
Indexing service with mainly Australian content. APAIS can also be linked and searched in combination with other Australian databases. After entering APAIS, click the Database button on the top left hand of the search screen. Tick any database you think is relevant including APAIS and then click Start Searching. Below is a list of some of these Australian databases relevant to Accounting.
|
| Factiva full text |
| |
Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Internet Explorer . To access Australian materials, click Source, choose from the dropdown menu My Source Lists, click Group : Australia Publications - this searches the Australian publications in Factiva. |
| Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database |
| |
Kinetica enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major University libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibray Loans request form, accessible from the UNSW Library Homepage (see under Document Supply (ILL) .
|
Other databases with significant scholarly accounting content
| ECONLIT (Economic literature) 1969+ |
| |
Scholarly indexing database with SFX links to electronic articles and the Catalogue (LRD).
Use the Thesaurus Search (bottom left of the screen) to find subjects or alternative terms. Click the Alphabetical List radio button, type your keyword e.g. accountants, tick the box next to the term and click Search (left side of the screen). This retrieves 554 records.
A similar search on auditors or auditing retrieves 436 records and a search on accounting retrieves 8250 records.
|
| International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS 1951+ |
| |
Index. A search "accounting or auditing" retrieves 11600 records. Keep keyword searches simple or broad as most records may not have an abstract field. |
| PAIS International 1976+ |
| |
Index. Significant amounts on accounting etc. Note Specific database link. Click this link and it will offer PAIS Archive which is a backfile to 1915-1976. Tick the boxes next to both records and search together. |
| International Bibliography of the Social Sciences : IBSS 1951+ |
| |
Index. A search "accounting or auditing" retrieves 11600 records. Keep keyword searches simple or broad as most records may not have an abstract field. |
| Periodicals Archive Online full text 1770+ |
| |
PAO Full Text is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. |
| JSTOR full text 1890+ |
| |
Multidisciplinary & scholarly. On the entry page, click Search, then click Advanced Search. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas i.e. Business, Economics, Finance. To avoid the many book reviews in search results, tick Articles box under Narrow your search to e.g. |
| ScienceDirect full text 1995+ |
| |
Multidisciplinary & scholarly. Click Search, then highlight Business, Management and Accounting. |
| Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+ |
| For market information |
| Global Market Information Database/Euromonitor full text |
| |
Reference and source data that covers countries and markets - offering historical statistics and forecasts, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
|
| Reuters Business Insight full text 1998+ |
| |
200 full text market research reports in 5 industry areas : consumer goods, energy, finance, health care, technology (including e-commerce), press releases on markets and companies worldwide. Reports found by browsing the full list of available titles, browsing by industry area or by using the search facility.
|
|
| |
|
Thesis databases, Scopus and Libraries Australia
| Current Contents |
| |
A current awareness service indexing journals in advance of publication. |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily. |
| Sirius Theses Page |
| |
This is a link to the Sirius Theses page which lists all the main resources or theses including Writing and presenting your thesis or dissertation. This can be generated independently by entering Sirius and clicking Find Resources, click Locate, using the Type dropdown menu select Theses. |
| Proquest dissertations and theses |
| |
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download.
|
| Index to Theses |
| |
Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland |
| Australian Digital Theses full text |
| |
Provides full text access to recent Australian PhD and Masters by research theses. Theses available to download in PDF format. |
| Libraries Australia (KINETICA) The National Bibliographic Database |
| |
Kinetica enables you to search the holdings of 850 libraries in Australia, including all the major University libraries. Postgraduates and Academic/General Staff can request the loan of items or material not held in UNSW Library via the Interlibray Loans request form. |
|
|