go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Accounting Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Factiva full text
  1 of 5 multidisciplinary databases with general and scholarly content. Broad international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. For best results, view in Explorer. To access Australian materials, click Source. Click Select Source Category dropdown menu, scroll up to MY Source List and Highlight  Group : Australia Publications. This searches all 160 Australian publications in Factiva. Select your date range i.e. All Dates and enter search terms. 
 Emerald full text 
  Scholarly database. Indexes 100 scholarly management journals. A must for the accountancy students.
 The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting. 1997 
  SREF657.003/17  for term & concept definitions.
 Australian Accounting and Auditing Standards Online
  The online version of the Australian Accounting and Auditing Handbook. Accounting standards in Australia are approved by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and the Australian Society of Certified Public Accountants. The standards are published in the Members Handbooks of each of these bodies.
 Accounting and Auditing handbook
 
Incorporates all the Australian equivalents to international financial reporting standards.
In print at S 657.0994/13 BN/(1-2).  A copy of the latest edition is always kept at the Reserve Desk on Level 2. 
 Australian CPA Electronic Journal
  Print version available at SQ657.06/35,35A (1998-2002)
 The Accounting review  Electronic Journal
  Print version available at S657.06/3,3B (1926-2002)
 Australia Tax Sites internet site
  The Australian part of this broad Tax and Accounting Sites Directory located in America.
 LRD Catalogue  (before clicking read below first) or link to the online tutorial How to ... Using the LRD
 
Use the LRD to search your library for books and journals. Search for a known book by choosing to search in either the author field or the title field. The quickest search for a known book may be an "All Keywords" search using the author's (or editor's) name and a few words of the title. Search for a journal by typing its title "journal of finance", selecting "Title Keyword" search and limiting your search to journals only. 
Search for unknown items by resolving your topic into keywords e.g. "information systems theory". Note the Subject Heading on the full display of records. Use these as the subject searches by clicking on them, or use the terms you consider relevant as keyword searches. Subject Headings give you a clue to preferred terms and to related topics that you may not have thought of.
 
 MyCourse UNSW Library Reserve (before clicking read below first) or link to the MyCourse online tutorial
 
MyCourse is the search engine for the Library Reserve. Lecturers place items in Reserve that they want all their students to use. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword, but the first search should be using your course code e.g. ACCT1501 to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. 

Related Subject Guides