go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

American Politics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links 
Current Events

Reference Resources

General Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Americana. 1986
  Only in print at SREF031/1B/(1-30)
General knowledge encyclopaedia similar to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, but with emphasis on America. Useful source of concise information on people, events and institutions.
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes The Oxford Guide to the United States Government ;  The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World.
Politics and international relations resource
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Democracy and Democratization; Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Poltical Thinkers; The Terrorism Reader.
Congressional quarterly's American congressional dictionary 3rd ed. 2001
  Only in print at SREF328.73003/2A
The American political dictionary. 11th ed. 2002
  Only in print at SREF320.973/93D
The Harper Collins dictionary of American government and politics. 1993
  Only in print at SREF320.973/302
Dorsey dictionary of American politics and government. 1988
  Only in print at SREF320.97303/2
Encyclopedia of American political history : studies of the principal movements and ideas. 1984
  Only in print at SREF320.97303/2/(1-3)
Encyclopedia of American foreign policy. 2nd ed. 2002
  Only in print at SREF327.73003/1/(1-3)
A companion to American thought. 1995
  Essays on the pivotal topics and figures in the history of American intellectual endeavor and achievement.
Only in print at SREF001.10973/2.
A historical guide to the U.S. government. 1998
  Only in print at SREF352.30973/1
Encyclopedia of the American left. 1998.
  Only in print at SREF335.0097303/1 
The encyclopedia of American political history. 2001
  Only in print at SREF320.973/341

The Presidency

The Presidential-Congressional political dictionary. 1984
  Only in print at SREF320.47303/1
Biographical directory of the United States executive branch, 1774-1989. 1990
  Only in print at SREF353.04092/1A
Encyclopedia of the American presidency. 1994
  Only in print at SREF353.031303/1/(1-4)
Facts about the presidents, a compilation of biographical and historical information. 1981
  Only in print at SREF353.0313/6A
The vice-presidents and cabinet members biographies, arranged chronologically by administration. 1975
  Only in print SREF973.0922/1/(1-2)
  Online full text resource

Congress

Congressional Quarterly's American congressional dictionary. 1993
  Only in print at SREF328.73003/2 
Congress A to Z : CQ's ready reference encyclopedia. 4th ed. 2003
  Only in print at SREF328.73003/1A
Congressional practice and procedure : a reference, research, and legislative guide. 1989
  Only in print at SREF328.7305/1 
Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1789-1946. 2002
  Currently on order
Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1947-1992. 1993
  SREF328.730765/2 /(1-2)
The directory of congressional voting scores and interest group ratings. 1988
  Only in print at SREF328.730775/3/(1-2)
Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989 : the Continental Congress, September 5, 1774, to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States, from the First through the One Hundredth Congresses, March 4, 1789, to January 3, 1989, inclusive. 1989
  Only in print at SREF328.73/46A

United States Supreme Court

The Oxford companion to the Supreme Court of the United States. 1992
  Only in print at SREF347.732603/1
The Supreme Court justices : a biographical dictionary. 1994
  Only in print at L/KB11.U/S3/1 (Law Library)
The Oxford guide to United States Supreme Court decisions. 1999
  Only in print at LREF/KG366/O1/1   (Law Library)
The evolving Constitution : how the Supreme Court has ruled on issues from abortion to zoning. 1992
  Only in print at LREF/K129/L2/1 (Law Library)
The Supreme Court A to Z : a ready reference encyclopedia. rev. ed. 1994
  Only in print at LREF/KL221/S24/2 (Law Library)

Elections and Political Parties

The American electorate : a historical bibliography. 1983
  Only in print at SREF324.973/15
Congressional Quarterly's guide to U.S. elections. 3rd ed.1994
  Only in print at SREF324.973/43
American national election studies data sourcebook, 1952-1986. 1989
  Only in print at SREF324.973/12A
State and national voting in Federal elections, 1910-1970. 1972.
  Only in print at S329.02373/6
The Democratic and Republican Parties in America : a historical bibliography. 1984
  Only in print at SREF324.273/13
Encyclopedia of third parties in the United States. 1991
  Only in print at SREF324.273/26
Political parties & elections in the United States : an encyclopedia. 1991
  Only in print at SREF324.27303/1/(1-2)
The encyclopedia of the Republican Party : The encyclopedia of the Democratic Party. 1997
  SREF324.273403/1/(1-4)